Release Day Picks: October 6th New Album Highlights

By Team JamBase Oct 6, 2017 5:53 am PDT

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Liam Gallagher, Wolf Parade, Gill Landry and Old Shoe. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Liam Gallagher – As You Were

The Scoop: “I didn’t want to be reinventing anything or going off on a space jazz odyssey. It’s the Lennon ‘Cold Turkey’ vibe, The Stones, the classics. But done my way, now,” Liam Gallagher stated regarding his debut solo album As You Were. The 44-year-old Oasis co-founder enlisted Greg Kurstin to produce and perform the instrumentation on four of the songs on the 12-track LP. A second session was held with producer Dan Grech-Marguerat to record the remaining eight songs at Snap! Studios in London. Here’s the lyric for the single “For What It’s Worth”:

Label: Warner Bros. Records/Parlophone Records

Producer: Greg Kurstin, Dan Grech-Marguerat

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 44:43

Guest Musicians: Greg Kurstin


  1. Wall Of Glass
  2. Bold
  3. Greedy Soul
  4. Paper Crown
  5. For What It’s Worth
  6. When I’m In Need
  7. You Better Run
  8. I Get By
  9. Chinatown
  10. Come Back To Me
  11. Universal Gleam
  12. I’ve All I Need

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Wolf Parade – Cry Cry Cry

The Scoop: Co-founding members Spencer Krug and Dan Boeckner joined their Wolf Parade band mates Arlen Thompson and Dante DeCaro at Robert Lang Studios near Seattle to record Cry Cry Cry with producer John Goodmanson. The fourth Wolf Parade album marks their first since going on hiatus following the 2010 release of Expo 86. The deaths of Leonard Cohen, David Bowie and the 2016 U.S. elections were sources of inspiration for songs on the 11-track effort. The song “You’re Dreaming,” is said to be “driving, urgent power pop” drawn “from artists like Tom Petty,” watch its video below:

Label: Sub Pop Records

Producer: John Goodmanson

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 47:19

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Lazarus Online
  2. You’re Dreaming
  3. Valley Boy
  4. Incantation
  5. Flies on the Sun
  6. Baby Blue
  7. Weaponized
  8. Who Are Ya
  9. Am I an Alien Here
  10. Artificial Life
  11. King of Piss and Paper

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Gill Landry – Love Rides A Dark Horse

The Scoop: Multi-instrumentalist Gill Landry begins his post-Old Crow Medicine Show career with today’s release of Love Rides A Dark Horse. The nine-track LP was written both at singer-songwriter Nikki Lane’s Nashville home as well as at a remote cabin in the Pacific Northwest. Love Rides A Dark Horse deals with the theme of heartbreak following Landry’s harsh breakup with his ex-fiancee. Gill describes the album as “more of ‘a map out of darkness’ than ‘an invitation to it.’” Landry recruited a number of his musical friends to add to the LP including Ross Holmes (Mumford & Sons, Bruce Hornsby), Skylar Wilson (Andrew Combs, Rayland Baxter) and Klara Soderberg (First Aid Kit). Watch the official video for “Berlin”:

Label: ATO

Number Of Tracks: 9

Running Time: 40:50

Guest Musicians: Ross Holmes, Skylar Wilson, Logan Matheny, Karen Elson, Odessa, Klara Soderberg


  1. Denver Girls
  2. Bird In A Cage
  3. Berlin
  4. Broken Hearts And Things We’ll Never Know
  5. The One Who Won The War
  6. The Only Game In Town
  7. Scripted Love
  8. The Women You Are
  9. The Real Deal Died

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Old Shoe – Country Home

The Scoop: After four long years, Chicago roots rockers Old Shoe has finally unveiled the follow-up to 2013’s Family. Country Home was written at … well … a country home in Oneida County, Wisconsin over the last few years. The five-piece assembled at I.V. Labs Studios in Chicago with Chris Harden to record the 13-track effort. Old Shoe shows off a variety of sounds and styles over the course of the LP, due in part to having four different members contribute to the writing process. Listen to the title track for “Country Home”:

Label: Self-Released

Producer: Old Shoe & Chris Harden

Number Of Tracks: 13

Running Time: 54:18

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Long Black Hair
  2. Bayou Honey
  3. Country Home
  4. Georgia Night
  5. Oneida County
  6. Never Left Me
  7. Star
  8. Summer In The Rain
  9. Light Speed
  10. Sweet Anne
  11. Aftermath
  12. Still Here On Sunday
  13. Time On My Hands

Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.

JamBase Collections