Release Day Picks: November 10th New Album Releases


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Mickey Hart, Langhorne Slim and Hüsker Dü. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Mickey Hart – RAMU

The Scoop: Grateful Dead drummer Mickey Hart assembled an impressive array of musicians to accompany him on the 12-track LP RAMU. Taking its title from Hart’s Random Access Musical Universe database of sound recordings, samples featured on the record span from 1944 to 2017 and include the late Babatunde Olatunji and Hart’s Grateful Dead band mate Jerry Garcia, as well as unreleased field recordings made by Alan Lomax. Among the featured artists each appearing on several tracks are Animal Collective’s Avey Tare and Tank and The Bangas frontwoman Tarriona “Tank” Ball. Recorded at Hart’s Studio X in California with co-producer Michal Menert, Mickey enlisted his Dead & Company band mate Oteil Burbridge on bass, longtime collaborators Zakir Hussain on tabla, Sikiru Adepoju on talking drum and Giovanni Hidalgo on congas, along with guitarist Steve Kimock, saxophonist Charles Lloyd and The String Cheese Incident percussionist Jason Hann. Here’s “Big Bad Wolf” featuring Tank:

Label: Verve Forecast

Producer: Mickey Hart, Michal Menert

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 47:18

Guest Musicians: Avey Tare, Tarriona “Tank” Ball, Oteil Burbridge, Zakir Hussain, Sikiru Adepoju, Giovanni Hidalgo, Steve Kimock, Charles Lloyd, Jason Hann


  1. Auctioneers
  2. Wayward Son (feat. Avey Tare)
  3. Big Bag Wolf (feat. Tarriona “Tank” Ball)
  4. The Lost Coast
  5. Who Do You Think You Are (feat. Tarriona “Tank” Ball)
  6. You Remind Me (feat. Avey Tare)
  7. When the Morning Comes (feat. Tarriona “Tank” Ball)
  8. Jerry
  9. Wine Wine Wine
  10. Nacare
  11. Spreading the News (feat. Tarriona “Tank” Ball)
  12. Infinite Space (feat. Avey Tare)

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Langhorne Slim – Lost At Last Vol. 1

The Scoop: For a more than a decade Langhorne Slim has built a reputation for his infectious brand of heartfelt folk rock. For his sixth full-length album, Lost At Last, Vol. 1, which was recorded over the span of around six months in New Orleans, Los Angeles, and Catskill, New York, the Nashville-based singer-songwriter turned even more introspective. His latest is a collection of tunes that at their core are steeped in themes of self-improvement and reflection, with Langhorne stating, “Everyone’s searchin’ for something better around every corner, but it’s already right here.” Check out the music video for “Zombie”:

Label: Dualtone Music

Producer: Malachi DeLorenzo, Kenny Siegal

Number Of Tracks:13

Running Time: 34:00

Guest Musicians: Malachi DeLorenzo


  1. Life Is Confusing
  2. Old Things
  3. House of My Soul (You Light the Rooms)
  4. Ocean City (For May, Jack & Brother Jon)
  5. Private Property
  6. Money Road Shuffle
  7. Never Break
  8. Bluebird
  9. Alligator Girl
  10. Funny Feelin’ (For Junior Kimbrough and Ted Hawkins)
  11. Zombie
  12. Lost This Time
  13. Better Man

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Hüsker Dü – Savage Young Dü

The Scoop: With Savage Young Dü Chicago-based reissue label Numero Group turned their attention to seminal hardcore punk band Hüsker Dü. In typical Numero fashion the meticulous 69-track box set presents remastered editions of In A Free Land and Everything Falls Apart, plus an alternate Land Speed Record and a cache of previously unreleased demos, rehearsals and live recordings culled from original analog master tapes spanning the trio’s formation in St. Paul, Minnesota in 1979 to 1982. The set showcases the early development of guitarist Bob Mould, bassist Greg Norton and late drummer Grant Hart who passed away earlier this year, prior to their signing to the West Coast label SST. An extensive 12,000-word essay penned by Erin Ossman comes with the massive collection. “We dialed it into what we thought was the best Hüsker Dü of this early period, Numero Group’s Ken Shipley told NPR. “We tried to capture every song they wrote, the best performances. A lot of this stuff was never recorded in a studio. There were tons of rehearsal tapes and soundchecks.”

Label: Numero Group

Number Of Tracks: 69

Running Time: 2:42:04

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Do You Remember? (Demo)
  2. Sore Eyes (Demo)
  3. Can’t See You Anymore (Demo)
  4. Picture of You (Demo)
  5. The Truth Hurts (Demo)
  6. Do the Bee (Demo)
  7. Nuclear Nightmare (Demo)
  8. All I’ve Got to Lose Is You (Demo)
  9. Chinese Rocks (Rehearsal)
  10. Uncle Ron (Rehearsal)
  11. Data Control (Rehearsal)
  12. Insects Rule the World (Live)
  13. You’re Too Obtuse (Live)
  14. Outside (Live)
  15. Sexual Economics (Live)
  16. What Went Wrong (Live)
  17. Statues
  18. Amusement
  19. Writer’s Cramp
  20. Let’s Go Die
  21. Walk Within the Wounded (Live)
  22. Industrial Grocery Store (Live)
  23. Drug Party (Live)
  24. Call on Me (Live)
  25. Termination (Live)
  26. I’m Tired of Doing Things Your Way (Live)
  27. Stick It to Me (Live)
  28. Wheels (Live)
  29. All Tensed Up (Live)
  30. Don’t Try to Call (Live)
  31. I’m Not Interested (Live)
  32. Guns at My School (Live)
  33. Push the Button (Live)
  34. Gilligan’s Island (Live)
  35. MTC (Live)
  36. Don’t Have a Life (Live)
  37. You’re Naive (Live)
  38. Strange Week (Live)
  39. Big Sky (Live)
  40. Ultracore (Live)
  41. Let’s Go Die (Live)
  42. Won’t Say a Word (Live)
  43. Don’t Try It (Live)
  44. Private Hell (Live)
  45. Diane (Live)
  46. Sex Dolls (Live)
  47. In a Free Land
  48. What Do I Want?
  49. M.I.C.
  50. Target (In a Free Land Session)
  51. Signals from Above (In a Free Land Session)
  52. From the Gut
  53. Blah, Blah, Blah
  54. Punch Drunk
  55. Bricklayer
  56. Afraid of Being Wrong
  57. Sunshine Superman
  58. Signals from Above
  59. Everything Falls Apart
  60. Wheels
  61. Target
  62. Obnoxious
  63. Gravity
  64. Do You Remember? (Live)
  65. Travel in the Opposite Car (Live)
  66. It’s Not Funny Anymore (Live)
  67. Real World (Live)
  68. Out on a Limb (Live)
  69. It’s Not Fair (Live)

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.