Release Day Picks: July 19th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by The Flaming Lips, ALO, From Good Homes, Turkuaz and Joe Pug. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

The Flaming Lips – King’s Mouth: Music And Songs

The Scoop: Originally issued on Record Store Day, The Flaming Lips’ 15th studio album, King’s Mouth: Music And Songs, is now available in all formats. Co-produced by the band, Dennis Coyne and Scott Booker, with additional production provided by Dave Fridmann and Mike Fridmann, the 12-track album is The Flaming Lips’ first since 2017’s Oczy Mlody. The Clash’s Mick Taylor was tapped to narrate the “conceptual storyline” strung across King’s Mouth: Music And Songs. The album takes its name and serves as the soundtrack to frontman Wayne Coyne’s immersive art installation. “The King’s Mouth immersive/child-like qualities are born from the same spark and womb as The Flaming Lips’ live performances,” said Coyne. “The King’s Mouth adventure was made for humans of all sizes, ages, cultures and religions.”

ALO – Creatures, Vol. 1: Spark

The Scoop: ALO debuted new originals during their annual Tour d’Amour run earlier this year. The band will give those songs and others the studio treatment on a series of EPs set for release “over the course of the next several seasons.” Creatures, Vol. 1: Spark is the first of the Brushfire EPs and contains four new tracks. Founding members Dan “Lebo” Lebowitz, Zach Gill and Steve Adams are joined by the newest member of ALO, drummer Ezra Lipp, who makes his ALO studio debut. The band tapped Dave Simon-Baker and Mike Cresswell to engineer and mix the EP. “‘Get To Do It Again’ is about turning a rut into a groove, finding silver linings by shifting your perspective,” Gill said about one of his contributions to Creatures, Vol. 1: Spark. “The idea that when you finally experience the thing you’ve been dreading, it often times is exactly what you needed. Your breakdown becomes your breakthrough.”

From Good Homes – Time And The River

The Scoop: Seminal jam act From Good Homes compiled 11 new originals for their first full-length studio album since 1998. Time & The River, out today via GRRRrrr Records, features the current lineup of Brady Rymer, Todd Sheaffer, Jamie Coan, Patrick Fitzsimmons and Dan Myers. “We tried over the last five years of so to make [recording a studio album], but the stars aligned about two years ago,” Fitzsimmons told the Tunestiles podcast. “It just ended up being an incredibly productive and profilic time,” the drummer added about the two-week period in which the band members collaborated on writing the music for the songs found on Time & The River. “The stars kinda aligned and in that period of time, the skeleton or the structure of this album came together.” The band members divided and conquered when it came time to pen the lyrics and then recorded the LP in May with Myers serving as producer.

Turkuaz – Afterlife Vol. 2

The Scoop: Turkuaz wrote a total of 20 songs for their 2018 full-length studio album, Life In The City. The band released nine on the LP and are sharing more on a series of two EPs. Afterlife Vol. 1 came out in May and now Afterlife Vol. 2 is here. The second installment of the EP series features a demo mix of Life In The City track “If I Ever Fall Asleep” as well as a studio version of the recently debuted “Better Get Ready” and three additional tracks. “It’s an eclectic mix of songs, so much so that I thought that this sort of catch-all bonus track EP was the best place for these songs to live,” guitarist/vocalist Dave Brandwein said in an interview with Jackson Hole News & Guide. “It’s really good to get these out and let people hear them.”

Joe Pug – The Flood In Color

The Scoop: Singer-songwriter Joe Pug went almost four years between the release of The Flood In Color, his new album out today that follows-up to 2015’s Windfall. The 10-track new LP was produced by the Milk Carton Kids’ Kenneth Pattengale and engineered by Matt Ross-Spang. “In the past I’ve been guilty of being a bit too intoxicated with the process of recording, and it sometimes took away from the pure joy of making music,” Pug stated. “This time we didn’t spend weeks hold up in the studio obsessing over minute details. Kenneth put together an A+ group of musicians. And then we sat around a table, talked about the song for a bit, ran through it, and then pressed record. It was a revelation, and all the credit in the world to Kenneth for recognizing how important that would be. As a musician there are so many things that can get in the way of actually making music. What Kenneth did was to methodically strip those things away.”

Compiled by Scott Bernstein and Andy Kahn.