Release Day Picks: January 27th New Album Highlights

By Andy Kahn Jan 27, 2017 10:28 am PST

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Sleater-Kinney, Japandroids and Dead Man Winter. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Sleater-Kinney – Live In Paris

The Scoop: Two years ago Carrie Brownstein, Corin Tucker and Janet Weiss reformed Sleater-Kinney and released the well-received new studio album No Cities to Love. Now the trio is back with their first official live release featuring a performance from March 20, 2015 at the historic La Cigale in Paris. The show featured many songs from the new record as well as selections from their mid-1990s/early-2000s catalog. Touring member Katie Harkin can be heard alongside the groups core power trio. Listen to their live rendition of “What’s Mine Is Yours” which was recorded on their 2005 LPThe Woods:

Label: Sub Pop Records

Producer: Greg Calbi (Mastering), John Goodmanson (Mixing)

Number Of Tracks: 13

Running Time: 47:28

Guest Musicians: Katie Harkin


  1. Price Tag
  2. Oh!
  3. What’s Mine Is Yours
  4. A New Wave
  5. Start Together
  6. No Cities to Love
  7. Surface Envy
  8. Play
  9. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
  10. Turn It On
  11. Entertain
  12. Jumpers
  13. Dig Me Out
  14. Modern Girl

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Japandroids – Near To The Wild Heart Of Life

The Scoop: Canadian rock duo Japandroids are back with Near to the Wild Heart of Life, their first album since 2012’s critical and commercial breakthrough Celebration Rock. Singer/guitarist Brian King and drummer David Prowse are coming off a three year touring hiatus. The pair enlisted Jesse Gander as co-producer to make another album steeped in their signature brand of high-energy rock and roll. While most of the eight tracks are “hit it and quit it” affairs, “Arc Of Bar” spans an un-Japandroids-like seven minutes. Listen to the title track from the new LP:

Label: ANTI-/Epitaph

Producer: Jesse Gander / Japandroids

Number Of Tracks: 8

Running Time: 36:45

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Near To The Wild Heart Of Life
  2. North East South West
  3. True Love And A Free Life Of Free Will
  4. I’m Sorry (For Not Finding You Sooner)
  5. Arc Of Bar
  6. Midnight To Morning
  7. No Known Drink Or Drug
  8. In A Body Like A Grave

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Dead Man Winter – Furnace

The Scoop: You thought you had a rough 2016? Take a listen to Dead Man Winter, the side project by Dave Simonett – best known as the front man for Trampled By Turtles – and you’ll feel like a whiner by comparison. He put Trampled By Turtles on hiatus to focus on Furnace, which is an open kimono diary of an album culled a dark period for Simonett as he worked through a divorce and moved out of the home where he raised his two children. An album this personal could easily come across as self-absorbed in lesser hands, but Simonett’s heartbreak records feels entirely genuine as he seems like about the last guy who would spill his guts on tape. Most of the time, he’s more apt to talk about fishing and whiskey than he is heartbreak. The music is what really clicks though, as Simonett is about as solid of a songwriter as you’ll find today. As fans of Trampled By Turtles know, he doesn’t miss and Furnace is no different. Despite the heavy themes, the music on Furnace is quietly captivating and even uplifting in its pain. Have a listen to “This House Is On Fire” off the new record:

Label: GNDWire Records/Thirty Tigers

Producer: Dave Simonett, Erik Koskinen

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 40:44

Guest Musicians: JT Bates (drums, Erik Koskinen (guitar), Tim Saxhaug (bass), and Bryan Nichols (Keyboard)


  1. This House Is On Fire
  2. Destroyer
  3. Red Wing Blue Wing
  4. I Remember This Place Being Bigger
  5. The Same Town
  6. Cardinal
  7. Am I Breaking Down
  8. Danger
  9. Weight Of The World
  10. You Are Out Of Control

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Ryan Dembinsky, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.

JamBase Collections