Release Day Picks: August 24th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by White Denim, Rubblebucket and Peter More. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

White Denim – Performance

The Scoop: White Denim’s music has always been hard to put in a box. Over the course of a decade, the Austin-based act has taken ZZ Top’s Texas boogie and fused it with post-punk, psychedelic rock and prog-rock for a heady stew that is uniquely their own. For their latest, Performance, the band has welcomed two new members into the mix. Joining founding members James Petralli (vocals, guitar) and Steven Terebecki (vocals, bass) are Conrad Choucroun (drums) and Michael Hunter (keyboards). Recorded over eight weeks at the band’s new downtown Austin studio, Radio Milk, the nine-track effort once again features White Denim’s patented groove-based songs built around intricate, knotty instrumentals that seamlessly move from one to the next. Check out the music video for “Fine Slime”:

Label: City Slang Records

Producer: James Petralli, Steven Terebecki, Jim Vollentine,

Number Of Tracks: 9

Running Time: 32:42

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Magazin
  2. Performance
  3. Fine Slime
  4. Double Death
  5. Moves On
  6. It Might Get Dark
  7. Sky Beaming
  8. Backseat Driving
  9. Good News

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Rubblebucket – Sun Machine

The Scoop: Rubblebucket’s Kalmia Traver and Alex Toth initiated work on Sun Machine in 2015. Since then, the couple got engaged to be married but ultimately ended their romantic relationship of 11 years. The pair remained musical partners and incorporated life experiences such as Traver’s treatment for ovarian cancer and Toth’s decision to address his alcholism and get sober into the songs on the new album. The duo’s follow-up to 2014’s Survival Sounds is said to be “a party album rooted in radical mindfulness, a breakup record imbued with each partner’s palpable love for the other.” Check out the “Fruity” video:

Label: Grand Jury Music

Producer: Kalmia Traver, Alex Toth

Number Of Tracks: 13

Running Time: 41:09

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. What Life Is
  2. Donna
  3. Lemonade
  4. Party Like Your Heart Hurts
  5. Fruity
  6. Formless and New
  8. Annihilation Song
  10. Inner Cry
  11. Sunlit Sparks (I Won’t Break You)
  13. Habit Creature

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Peter More – Beautiful Disrepair

The Scoop: A chance meeting in Mexico a few years ago led to Steely Dan’s Donald Fagen producing Austin-based singer-songwriter Peter More’s debut album Beautiful Disrepair. The record marks Fagen’s first time producing since working with former band mate Walter Becker on the late guitarist’s 1994 solo album. More played guitar while backed by drummer Adrien Faunce, bassist Diego Noyola, keyboardist Sean Giddings and guitarist Jose Juan Poyatos, along with special guests, guitarist Larry Campbell and vocalist Amy Helm. Stream “Country Love Song” featuring Campbell, Helm and Van Morrison drummer Rick Schlosser below:

Label: Night Owl Production Co.

Producer: Donald Fagen

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 47:58

Guest Musicians: Amy Helm, Larry Campbell, Rick Schlosser


  1. In The Basement
  2. What You’re Looking For
  3. Caddis Moon
  4. Country Love Song
  5. Yet to Be
  6. Cohabitate
  7. Cuando
  8. Beautiful Disrepair
  9. Not In The Cards
  10. Fireflies
  11. Wired That Way

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt and Andy Kahn.