Real Estate Announces New EP ‘Half A Human’ & Shares Title Track


Real Estate gathered remotely to record Half A Human, an EP due out on Domino March 26. Today, the quintet released the title track from the six-song collection along with an accompanying video.

The basis of each Half A Human track came together as part of sessions that yielded Real Estate’s 2020 album, The Main Thing. Then, the pandemic hit at which point guitarists Martin Courtney and Julian Lynch, bassist Alex Bleeker and keyboardist Matt Kallman started volleying ideas for the songs remotely and eventually completed the EP.

“Life keeps changing and additional responsibilities and stresses keep being added, but this band is still here,” noted Martin Courtney. “When I was writing a lot of these songs, I was feeling a little weird about being in a band. Like, ‘how is this still a thing?’ I was feeling silly about it and then coming around to it at the same time. This is what we’re good at and it’s what we love to do and want to keep doing. I don’t want to do anything else.”

Courtney penned “Half A Human” about “the alienation of life on tour,” an interesting sentiment considering how the pandemic would take Real Estate off the road. The song was played often by the band at concerts in 2018 and 2019.

Watch the FISK-directed “Half A Human” video below:

Half A Human Tracklist

  1. Desire Path
  2. Half A Human
  3. Soon
  4. D+
  5. In The Garden
  6. Ribbon
More Real Estate on JamBase
  • Real Estate Announces New Album 'The Main Thing' & Shares Single

    Real Estate Announces New Album 'The Main Thing' & Shares Single 

  • Real Estate Films ‘Gone’ Video Inside A Refrigerator

    Real Estate Films ‘Gone’ Video Inside A Refrigerator 

  • Real Estate Covers Goo Goo Dolls For SiriusXM

    Real Estate Covers Goo Goo Dolls For SiriusXM 

  • Real Estate Launches ‘Quarantour’

    Real Estate Launches ‘Quarantour’ 

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook