Rainy Eyes Travels ‘Lonesome Highway’ On Title Track To Forthcoming Album

The 11-song set was produced by Dirk Powell and features contributions from Sam Grisman, Ric Robertson, Eric Odcock and others.

By Scott Bernstein Apr 23, 2024 11:38 am PDT

Rainy Eyes (Irena Eide) announced details of her sophomore studio album, Lonesome Highway, which is due on July 12 via Royal Potato Family. The Louisiana-based and Norway-bred singer-songwriter — who will perform at the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival this Friday, April 26 — unveiled the title track from the 11-song collection and an accompanying video.

Produced by Dirk Powell, Lonesome Highway features guest appearances by Sam Grisman, Ric Robertson, Chris Stafford and Eric Adcock, among others. Rainy Eyes decamped to a cabin in Bolinas, California to lay down the roots of what became the album. “We had an epic time recording demos of the songs I’d been working on,” Rainy stated in a press release. “It felt like a creative explosion.”


After enduring a tough period that included the breakup of her marriage, Eide made her way to South Louisiana. “There’s this part of me ever since I was young that has to keep moving,” she added. “I’d already been in love with Louisiana, so it just naturally drew me in.” Rainy Eyes played the recordings from Bolinas for Dirk Powell, who brought her into his studio to complete work on the album.

“‘Lonesome Highway’ was written over the course of several years, and came about as an attempt to write a short movie in song form. It draws loosely on my personal experience of having to sever ties with toxic family members, and knowing that you can’t always help the people you love,” Rainy told The Bluegrass Situation of the title track to her second album. “Change has to come from within and sometimes you just have to take that lonesome highway and trust that if you take the leap of faith into the unknown, the universe will catch you.”

Watch Rainy Eyes’ “Lonesome Highway” video below:

Loading tour dates


Lonesome Highway Tracklist

  1. Misty Mama
  2. Lonesome Highway
  3. You Just Want What You Can’t Have
  4. Idaho
  5. A Little Dream
  6. To Take His Life
  7. Faded Away
  8. Set Me Free
  9. Just A Little Rain
  10. I Thought About You
  11. Monday’s Gonna Come Around
JamBase Collections