Prophets Of Rage Make Live Debut At Whisky A Go Go


New supergroup Prophets Of Rage made their live debut at famed West Hollywood night club Whisky A Go Go last night. The band featuring Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk and frontmen B-Real of Cypress Hill and Chuck D of Public Enemy as well as DJ Lord played material from all three groups along with a pair of originals.

Fittingly, the band opened with the Public Enemy song that gives them their name, “Prophets Of Rage.” The group then hit up the Rage Against The Machine catalog for “Guerilla Radio” and “Bombtrack,” two of eight Rage songs Prophets would play on Tuesday night. “People Of The Sun,” “Testify,” “Know Your Enemy” and “Bulls On Parade” were among the other Rage Against The Machine tunes performed by Prophets Of Rage.

The show also included the Public Enemy gem “Miuzi Weighs A Ton” and Cypress Hill’s “Rock Superstar” along with a medley that combined a number of Public Enemy and Cypress Hill songs. Fans at the show were treated to two originals as “Shut Them Down” came in the middle of the set and shortly thereafter B-Real reportedly dedicated “The Party’s Over” to presidential candidate Donald Trump. Prophets Of Rage ended the main set with a cover of the Beastie Boys’ “No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn” they worked into Public Enemy’s “Fight The Power” followed by “Bulls On Parade.” For the encore, the new band said farewell with “Killing In The Name.”

Prophets Of Rage will play their second show on Friday at the Palladium in Hollywood.

Watch fan-shot clips from last night’s show shared by martijn:


Prophets of Rage at Whisky A Go Go

  • Prophets of Rage  
  • Guerrilla Radio  
  • Bombtrack  
  • Miuzi Weighs a Ton  
  • People of the Sun  
  • Take the Power Back  
  • (Rock) Superstar  
  • Hand on the Pump / Can't Truss It / Insane in the Brain / Bring the Noise / I Ain't Goin' Out Like That / Welcome to the Terrordome  
  • Testify  
  • Sleep Now in the Fire  
  • Shut 'Em Down  
  • Know Your Enemy  
  • The Party's Over
  • No Sleep Till Brooklyn / Fight the Power  
  • Bulls on Parade  
  • Killing in the Name