Prince ‘1999’ Remaster Features 35 Previously Unreleased Tracks

By Scott Bernstein Sep 10, 2019 2:27 pm PDT

The Prince Estate has teamed up with Warner Records to reissue Prince’s famed studio album 1999 on November 29. Fans of The Purple One will be pleased to hear the album has been remastered for the first time and the Super Deluxe Edition features 35 previously unreleased tracks, many of which come straight from Prince’s vault.

1999 features such hits as “1999,” “Little Red Corvette” and “Delirious.” The LP was the crossover smash that for many fans was an introduction to Prince’s music. It was also the first to feature The Revolution. “I didn’t want to do a double album, but I just kept writing,” Prince told Rolling Stone in 1982 of all the material he put together for what he eventually released as a 11-track album. “I always compare songwriting to a girl walking in the door. You don’t know what she’s going to look like, but all of a sudden she’s there.”

In November, fans will finally get a chance to hear much more of the material Prince wrote for 1999 that didn’t make the album. Included are demos, outtakes and other studio recordings. Additionally, the Super Deluxe Edition of 1999 also features two full concerts from the 1999 tour. There’s audio of Prince’s November 30, 1982 performance in Detroit and video of The Purple One’s show at The Summit in Houston from December 29, 1982. A booklet accompanying the Super Deluxe Edition contains brand new liner notes by Rolling Stone’s David Fricke, Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan and Minneapolis music scene commentator Andrea Swensson. There’s also detailed notes on the Vault Tracks by Prince scholar Duane Tudahl, rare and previously unseen photography by Allen Beaulieu as well as Prince’s handwritten lyrics.

1999 Super Deluxe Edition Tracklist

CD1/LP1&2 (Original Album with 2019 Remaster)

  1. 1999
  2. Little Red Corvette
  3. Delirious
  4. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
  5. D.M.S.R.
  6. Automatic
  7. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
  8. Free
  9. Lady Cab Driver
  10. All The Critics Love U In New York
  11. International Lover
  12. CD2/LP3&4 (Promo Mixes and B-sides, 2019 Remaster)

  1. 1999 (7″ Stereo Edit)
  2. 1999 (7″ Mono Promo-Only Edit)
  3. Free (Promo Only Edit
  4. How Come You Don’t Call Me Anymore
  5. Little Red Corvette (7″ Edit)
  6. All The Critics Love U In New York (7″ Edit)
  7. Lady Cab Driver (7″ Edit)
  8. Little Red Corvette (Dance Remix Promo Only Edit)
  9. Little Red Corvette (Special Dance Mix)
  10. Delirious (7″ Edit)
  11. Horny Toad
  12. Automatic (7″ Edit)
  13. Automatic (Video Version)
  14. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (7″ Edit)
  15. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (7″ Mono Promo Only Edit)
  16. Irresistible Bitch
  17. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (Video Version)
  18. D.M.S.R. (Edit)

CD3/LP5&6 (Vault Tracks Pt 1, recorded between November 1981 and April 1982)

  1. Feel U Up
  2. Irresistible Bitch
  3. Money Don’t Grow On Trees
  4. Vagina
  5. Rearrange
  6. Bold Generation
  7. Colleen
  8. International Lover (Take 1) [Live In Studio]
  9. Turn It Up
  10. You’re All I Want
  11. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
  12. If It’ll Make U Happy
  13. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore? (Take 2)

CD4/LP7&8 (Vault Tracks Pt 2, recorded between April 1982 and January 1983)

  1. Possessed (1982 Version)
  2. Delirious (Full Length)
  3. Purple Music
  4. Yah, You Know
  5. Moonbeam Levels (2019 Remaster)
  6. No Call U
  7. Can’t Stop This Feeling I Got
  8. Do Yourself A Favor
  9. Don’t Let Him Fool Ya
  10. Teacher, Teacher
  11. Lady Cab Driver / I Wanna Be Your Lover / Little Red Corvette (Tour Demo)

CD5/LP9&10 (Live In Detroit at Masonic Temple Theater, Masonic Hall (Late Show) – November 30, 1982, Previously Unreleased)

  1. Controversy
  2. Let’s Work
  3. Little Red Corvette
  4. Do Me, Baby
  5. Head
  6. Uptown
  7. Lisa’s Keyboard Interlude
  8. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
  9. Automatic
  10. International Lover
  11. 1999
  12. D.M.S.R.

DVD (Live at The Summit, Houston, TX, – December 29, 1982, Previously Unreleased)

  1. Controversy
  2. Let’s Work
  3. Do Me, Baby
  4. D.M.S.R.
  5. Keyboard Interlude
  6. Piano Improvisation
  7. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
  8. Lady Cab Driver
  9. Automatic
  10. International Lover
  11. 1999
  12. Head
JamBase Collections