Phish Shares Studio Version Of ‘Blaze On’

By Scott Bernstein Sep 27, 2016 6:27 am PDT

On October 7 Phish will release the Bob Ezrin-produced studio effort Big Boat. Today the quartet has unveiled the LP’s second single, “Blaze On.” This track runs 4:20, just as our first taste of the LP, the single “Breath And Burning.”

“Blaze On” was written by guitarist Trey Anastasio and lyricist Tom Marshall. Phish debuted the live version of the track on July 21, 2015 in Bend, Oregon and it has been in heavy rotation ever since. While Anastasio stars on the track both vocally and instrumentally, he does give a shout out to keyboardist Page McConnell in a scream of “Leo!” ahead of a piano solo. The quartet seems to be augmented by a percussionist, likely Hamilton percussionist/drummer Andres Forero. Listen to “Blaze On”:

Head here to pre-order Big Boat.

Big Boat Tracklist

  1. Friends – 3:43 (Fishman)
  2. Breath And Burning – 4:20 (Anastasio)
  3. Home – 6:27 (McConnell)
  4. Blaze On – 4:20 (Anastasio/Marshall)
  5. Tide Turns – 4:21 (Anastasio)
  6. Things People Do – 1:55 (McConnell)
  7. Waking Up Dead – 4:15 (Gordon/Murawski)
  8. Running Out Of Time – 3:32 (Anastasio/Marshall)
  9. No Men In No Man’s Land – 5:00 (Anastasio/Marshall)
  10. Miss You – 7:02 (Anastasio)
  11. I Always Wanted It This Way – 4:29 (McConnell)
  12. More – 4:22 (Anastasio)
  13. Petrichor – 13:33 (Anastasio)
JamBase Collections