Phil Lesh Guests With The Rock Collection At Terrapin Crossroads


Supergroup The Rock Collection was joined by bassist Phil Lesh for two songs at the Grateful Dead bassist’s Terrapin Crossroads establishment in San Rafael, California on Saturday night. The Rock Collection lineup on Saturday featured guitarists Lebo (Dan Lebowitz) and Stu Allen, keyboardist Melvin Seals, drummer Greg Anton, bassist Robin Sylvester and vocalist Stephanie Salva.

The group went heavy on songs featuring music penned by Anton and lyrics written by Robert Hunter such as “I Will Love You,” “American Spring,” “Pits Of Thunder” and “Forever Is Nowhere.” Additionally, in the first set, Lebo led the group through ALO‘s “Try” and The Rock Collection performed “Catalina” from Greg’s Zero days. Phil Lesh emerged at the end of the opening stanza to replace Sylvester on “End Of The World Blues” and the Dead’s “Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo.” The latter also featured Jason Crosby of support act Doobie Decibel System on keys.

Saturday’s second Rock Collection set began with “Pits Of Thunder” and Melvin’s “Celebrate.” The band then worked through The Allman Brothers Band classic “Whipping Post” with Crosby on fiddle. Next, “Forever Is Nowhere” was followed by the Hunter/Anton/Scott Guberman co-write “Just Because” and the Hunter/Anton/Steve Kimock gem “Home On The Range.” The Rock Collection then ended the night by covering Bob Dylan’s “I Threw It All Away.”

Watch pro-shot video of Doobie Decibel System’s performance both Rock Collection sets, including Phil’s sit-in, below thanks to Moonalice:


Set One: I Will Love You, Try, Tear Tags Off Mattresses, American Spring, Catalina, End Of The World Blues*, Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo**

Set Two: Pits Of Thunder, Celebrate, Whipping Post^, Forever Is Nowhere, Just Because, Home On The Range, I Threw It All Away

  • * – w/ Phil Lesh
  • ** – w/ Phil Lesh & Jason Crosby
  • ^ – w/ Jason Crosby