Neil Young Previews ‘Young Shakespeare’ 1971 Live Album/Concert Film With ‘Tell Me Why’


On January 22, 1971, Neil Young played a solo show at The Shakespeare Theatre in Stratford, Connecticut that was filmed for a German TV special. Young today announced he will release the performance as Young Shakespeare, a live album and concert film due out March 26 via Warner Records. Neil previewed Young Shakespeare with “Tell Me Why” from the film as well as a trailer.

The film is heralded as “the earliest known live performance footage of Young known to exist.” Neil wrote that Young Shakespeare is “a more calm performance, without the celebratory atmosphere of Massey Hall, captured live on 16mm. Young Shakespeare is a very special event,” in a note on his Neil Young Archives website. “To my fans, I say this is the best ever…one of the most pure-sounding acoustic performances we have in the Archive.”

Neil’s 12-song performance in Stratford came a mere two months after the release of After The Gold Rush and he played “Tell Me Why” and “Don’t Let It Bring You Down” from the LP that night. The forthcoming set also includes early versions of “A Man Needs A Maid,” “Heart Of Gold,” “Old Man” and “The Needle And The Damage Done” from Harvest, an album Young wouldn’t put out until the following year.

A Deluxe Box Set Edition includes vinyl, CD and DVD. Those who purchase will receive free hi-res audio downloads. Young Shakespeare is also available as standalone DVD, CD and vinyl.

Watch “Tell Me Why” from Young Shakespeare below:

neilyoungchannel (See 3 videos)
Neil Young (See 168 videos)

Check out a trailer for the forthcoming live archival release:

Young Shakespeare Tracklist

  1. Tell Me Why
  2. Old Man
  3. The Needle and the Damage Done
  4. Ohio
  5. Dance Dance Dance
  6. Cowgirl in the Sand
  7. A Man Needs a Maid/Heart Of Gold
  8. Journey Through the Past
  9. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
  10. Helpless
  11. Down by the River
  12. Sugar Mountain