Neil Young Displays New Band & Material At Stealth Show

UPDATE 4/20: Neil Young & Promise Of The Real to release The Monsanto Years LP in June and will head out on a North American Tour together. Head here for more details.

Back in January Neil Young revealed he was recording a new album with Willie Nelson’s sons, Lukas Nelson and Micah Nelson. On Thursday night approximately 400 lucky fans at SLO Brewing Co. bore witness to Young’s new band mixing the debut of new material with classics in San Luis Obispo.

Neil Young was backed by a band featuring Lukas and Micah Nelson on electric guitars and vocals, Corey McCormick on bass and vocals as well as Anthony Logerfo on drums. The quintet played a total of ten new songs many of which railed against such companies as Monsanto and Starbucks according to fan reports. But the five-piece also dipped into Young’s back catalogue for seven classics including “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere,” “Down By The River” and Neil’s first take on “Walk On” since 2000. Tickets to the last minute show cost a mere $10. Neil Young first teamed with The Nelson Brothers and members of Promise of the Real for appearances at last fall’s Farm Aid, Harvest For Hope benefit and Bridge School Benefit Concerts. 

Watch footage of “Walk On” from Thursday as shot by matt suarez:

Here’s a clip of “Down By The River” thanks to Malibuheaven1:

Check out a clip of the new band’s version of “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” via SLO Tribune:

Setlist (via Sugar Mountain)

1. Country Home
2. New Song 1 -People Want To Hear About Love ??*
3. New Song 2 -New Day For The Planet ??*
4. Down By The River
5. New Song 3 -Too Big To Fail ??*
6. New Song 4 -GMO-Starbucks ??*

7. Walk On
8. New Song 5 -Monsanto ??*
9. New Song 6 -I Don’t Know You ??*
10. New Song 7 -Seeds ??*
11. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
12. Wolf Moon*
13. Love And Only Love
14. New Song 9*
15. New Song 10*
16. Country Home

17. Roll Another Number

* -song debut