Mountain Man Announces Debut Album Reissue & Shares Unreleased Arthur Russell Cover

The trio previewed the reissue with a live cover of Arthur Russell's "Kid Like You" recorded in 2011.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 2, 2021 8:53 am PDT

Mountain Man will put out a deluxe reissue of their debut album, Made The Harbor, via Psychic Hotline on November 5. The 10th Anniversary Edition of Made The Harbor includes a disc worth of bonus material such as a previously unreleased live recording featuring Mountain Man’s cover of “Kid Like You” by Arthur Russell that the band unveiled today.

The trio — which consists of Amelia Meath (of Sylvan Esso), Molly Sarlé and Alexandra Sauser-Monnig (Daughter Of Swords) — recorded Made The Harbor in the summer of 2010 and released the LP later that year. Other material featured in the reissue includes unreleased songs, live recordings and more. The forthcoming set arrives with a collage compiled from bandmembers’ personal photos and an essay penned by Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy.

“We are so excited to announce the ten year reissue of Made The Harbor! We recorded it when we were smelly freaks eating kimchi and Camembert in a too small car driving around and playing campfire shows,” Mountain Man said in a press release. “To kick off with, here is a vibey cover of Kid Like You, by Arthur Russell. Stay tuned!”

“Kid Like You” was performed live by Mountain Man at Indianapolis’ Big Car Gallery in 2011. A recording was captured by Doug Fellegy and Jeff DuPont of Indiana music blog LaundroMatinee. Check out the trio’s take on the Arthur Russell classic below:

Made The Harbor (10th Anniversary Edition) Tracklist

  1. Buffalo 01:55
  2. Animal Tracks 02:10
  3. White Heron 02:33
  4. Mouthwings 02:20
  5. Dog Song 03:11
  6. Soft Skin 02:03
  7. How’m I Doin’ 02:39
  8. Arabella 02:20
  9. Sewee Sewee 02:11
  10. Loon Song 04:09
  11. Honeybee 01:40
  12. Babylon 01:41
  13. River 02:25
  14. Bird Song 02:20
  15. Buffalo (Greenwall Session) 01:56
  16. Come All Ye Fair And Tender Ladies (Live) 04:00
  17. River (Live) 02:53
  18. Dog Song (Live) 03:36
  19. Sewee Sewee (Greenwall Session) 02:24
  20. Kid Like You 01:35
  21. Holy Father (Live) 01:27
  22. How’m I Doin’ (Live) 03:29
  23. Honeybee (Greenwall Session) 01:31
  24. White Heron (Greenwall Session) 02:45
  25. Animal Tracks (Greenwall Session) 02:17
  26. Play It Right 02:04
  27. Arabella (Live) 02:20
JamBase Collections