moe. Plays ‘Star Wars’-Themed Show On Halloween 2015


May 4th has turned into Star Wars Day in celebration of the famed 1977 movie and all the sequels it spawned thanks to a pun based on the franchise’s “may the force be with you” line. In honor of the occasion, here’s a look at moe.‘s Star Wars-themed Halloween concert from October 31, 2015 at The Fillmore Philadelphia.

moe. not only performed songs from the Star Wars films in Philadelphia, they also adapted lyrics of originals to fit the theme and played fitting covers. In addition, the members of the band dressed the part with Al Schnier as Obi-Wan Kenobi, Chuck Garvey as C-3PO, Jim Loughlin as Luke Skywalker, Rob Derhak as Han Solo and Vinnie Amico as Yoda. The Fillmore Philadelphia was also adorned for the night with props related to the movies.

The band opened with a take on John Williams’ “Star Wars Overture” and then changed “St. Augustine” to “Senator Palpatine.” A debut cover of The Byrds’ “Mr. Spaceman” came next along with Williams’ “Cantina Band” and a take on Frank Zappa’s “Cosmik Debris.” The first set concluded with “Shoot First” altered to “Han Shot First,” a version of “Interstellar Overdrive” by Pink Floyd and “Moth” changed to “Hoth.”

moe. kicked off the second set of their Star Wars-themed Halloween show with “The Imperial March,” a.k.a. “Darth Vader’s Theme.” The quintet then dug into David Bowie’s “Ziggy Stardust” for the first time. From there, moe. delivered an exploratory “Silver Sun” ahead of the frequent “Jazz Wank” > “Buster” pairing. The band ended the frame with “Yodelittle” adapted as “Yoda Little.” For the encore, the five-piece fit Star Wars-themed lyrics into “Plane Crash,” tackled Weird Al Yankovic’s “Yoda” and then said farewell with their version of Meco’s discofied take on the movie’s “Overture.”

Listen to an audience recording of moe.’s 2015 Halloween show taped by Marcus:

An official recording is available for streaming and purchase via

Setlist (via moe. Facebook)

Set One: Star Wars Overture1 > Senator Palpatine2, Mr. Spaceman3, Cantina Band1, Cosmik Debris4, Han Shot First5 > Interstellar Overdrive > Hoth6

Set Two: The Imperial March1 >(nh) Ziggy Stardust7, Silver Sun, Jazz Wank > Luke Can Fly8 > Yoda.Little.Leia9

Encore: CGI Crash10, Yoda11, Disco Wars12

  • 1 – FTP (cover – John Williams / LSO)
  • 2 – St. Aug with altered lyrics
  • 3 – FTP (cover – The Byrds)
  • 4 – FTP (cover – Frank Zappa) > jim. vox
  • 5 – Shoot 1st w/ altered lyrics
  • 6 – Moth with altered lyrics
  • 7 – FTP (cover – David Bowie)
  • 8 – Buster with alternate lyrics
  • 9 – Yodelittle with altered lyrics
  • 10 – Plane Crash with altered lyrics
  • 11 – FTP (cover – Weird Al Yankovic / The Kinks)
  • 12 – FTP (cover – Meco)

[Originally Published: May 4, 2018]

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook