Mike Campbell’s The Dirty Knobs Release ‘Fuck That Guy’ Single & Video


The Dirty Knobs, a band featuring Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers/Fleetwood Mac guitarist Mike Campbell, previewed their debut album, Wreckless Abandon, by sharing the video for single “Fuck That Guy.” Wreckless Abandon comes out via BMG on November 20.

The “Fuck That Guy” video stars Jeff Garlin of Curb Your Enthusiasm fame and actor Danny Trejo. Dirty Knobs tapped Gilbert Trejo to direct the clip.

“‘Fuck That Guy’ is a simple song that could really be about anyone you know,” noted Mike Campbell in a press release. “The video is a bizarre and darkly humorous take on 2020. It’s been a hard year. It helps to just laugh. We shot the video in September, just last month. Sometimes life ends up imitating art in almost unimaginable ways.”

“For the ‘Fuck That Guy’ video, we leaned into some of the motifs from my favorite silent films, creating the ‘me against the world’ character that guys like Buster Keaton or Charlie Chaplin perfected, but we stripped away what made those characters so endearing and empathetic,” added Gilbert Trejo. “There’s no need to empathize with the physical embodiment of COVID—seriously, fuck that guy. The Hazmat crew was our sort of 2020 version of the Keystone Cops, always on the hunt, trying to clear the world of this asshole who’s walking around thinking ‘he’s god’s gift to man.’”

Wreckless Abandon features 13 tracks penned by Mike Campbell. “Fuck That Guy” was co-written with Chris Stapleton. The guitarist produced the LP with George Drakoulias and tapped Klaus Voormann to create its artwork.

Watch the “Fuck That Guy” video below:

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook