Medeski Skerik & Deitch Announce DRKWAV Album

By Scott Bernstein Jan 15, 2015 9:30 am PST

DRKWAV -a trio featuring master musicians Skerik (saxophones), John Medeski (keyboards) and Adam Deitch (drums) -have announced the forthcoming release of their debut studio album. The Purge is set for a February 24 release via Royal Potato Family. Randall Dunn co-produced and mixed the new album.

[Photo by Greg Aiello]

DRKWAV’s The Purge is said to “conjure a wall of intricately detailed sound. Each of The Purge’s eight tracks surge and swell in cinematic overture. True to its name, the trio revels in the pitch black, yet continually discover beauty and shed light through sonic exploration.”

The new LP will be available as a limited edition, multi color vinyl, double LP set, as well as on CD and digital formats. As we previously reported, the band will hit the road in late February and early March. Look for additional shows to be announced soon.

Take a listen to the track “Darkwave”:


Side A
1. Darkwave
2. Soundtrack

Side B
3. Count Chockulous
4. Datura

Side C
5. Scars
6. Hell Bass

Side D
7. Gazzelloni
8. Shmeeans Kuti

DRKWAV Tour Dates

2/27 – Boston, MA @ Regattabar
2/28 -Portland, ME @ Asylum
3/5 -Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Bowl
3/6 – Ardmore, PA @ Ardmore Music Hall
3/7 -Washington, DC @ The Hamilton
3/12 – Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
3/13 -14 – Denver, CO @ Cervantes’ Masterpiece Ballroom
4/27 – New Orleans, LA @ Maison

JamBase Collections