Mdou Moctar Details New Album ‘Afrique Victime’ & Shares Single


Tuareg guitarist and songwriter Mdou Moctar will issue his latest studio album, Afrique Victime, via Matador Records on May 21. Moctar previewed his Matador debut by releasing lead single “Tala Tannam” and an accompanying video.

Mdou’s follow-up to 2019’s Ilana: The Creator was recorded with Moctar’s band, which includes rhythm guitarist Ahmoudou Madassane, bassist Mikey Coltun and drummer Souleymane Ibrahim. Coltun produced Afrique Victime at a variety of locations including studios, apartments, hotel rooms and backstage areas at venues. The nine-track LP also incorporates field recordings from Niger.

“While people have gotten to know Mdou Moctar as a rock band, there is a whole different set of music with this band done on acoustic guitars, which we wanted to incorporate into this album in order to go through a sonic journey,” noted Mduo of Afrique Victime. The album tracks “Habiti” and “Layla” come as a tribute to famed Niger musician and political revolutionary Abdallah Ag Oumbadagou. “Abdallah was a contemporary of Tinariwen and helped to pioneer the sound of Tuareg guitar music blended with drum machines and electronic sounds,” Moctar added.

“Tala Tannam means your tears,” explained Moctar regarding his new single. “It is another love song of which I’m very fond.” Mdou and his mates filmed the video for “Tala Tannam” in 2020. “While the song talks about love, we wanted to show the love between friendships and the love of Niger,” noted Coltun. “The video includes friends and family – in the Tuareg community in villages around Niamey as well as Hausa people from villages in the Dosso region.”

Watch Mdou Moctar’s “Tala Tannam” video below:

Afrique Victime Tracklist

  1. Chismiten
  2. Taliat
  3. Ya Habibti
  4. Tala Tannam
  5. Untitled
  6. Asdikte Akal
  7. Layla
  8. Afrique Victime
  9. Bismilahi Atagah

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook