Marvin Gaye ‘Lost’ Album ‘You’re The Man’ Set For Release


Marvin Gaye’s “lost” 1972 album You’re The Man will finally officially be released by Motown Records on March 29. The 17-song album features three tracks remixed by producer Salaam Remi, including the single “My Last Chance.”

Recorded by Gaye in 1972 as the proposed follow-up to his 1971 landmark LP What’s Going On, but only the single “You’re The Man” was released at the time. The rest of the tracks on You’re The Man were later issued on a variety of deluxe editions and compilations. The release of the new record, which includes the extended version Gaye’s shelved Christmas single “Christmas In The City” and a previously unreleased mix of its instrumental B-side, coincides with Motown’s 60th anniversary and what would have been Gaye’s 80th birthday on April 2.

Gaye’s biographer David Ritz wrote a new essay that comes with the physical editions of You’re The Man. Stream Remi’s remix of “My Last Chance” below:

You’re The Man Tracklist

  1. You’re The Man (Pts. I & II / Single Version)
  2. The World Is Rated X (Alternate Mix)
  3. Piece Of Clay
  4. Where Are We Going? (Alternate Mix 2)
  5. I’m Gonna Give You Respect
  6. Try It, You’ll Like It
  7. You Are That Special One
  8. We Can Make It Baby
  9. My Last Chance (SalaAM ReMi Remix)
  10. Symphony (SalaAM ReMi LP Mix)
  11. I’d Give My Life For You (SalaAM ReMi LP Mix)
  12. Woman Of The World
  13. Christmas In The City
  14. You’re The Man (Alternate Version)
  15. I Want To Come Home For Christmas
  16. I’m Going Home
  17. Checking Out (Double Clutch)