Maggie Rogers Announces ‘Notes From The Archive’ Album & Appears On ‘Sesame Street’


Maggie Rogers announced the retrospective album, Notes from the Archive: Recordings 2011 – 2016, set for release on December 18 through Rogers’ own label, Debay Sounds via Caroline. The Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter also appeared on Sesame Street.

Notes From The Archive is a 16-track set that includes six never-before-heard songs. The arc of the album traces Rogers’ musical journey to her critically acclaimed 2019 Capitol Records debut, Heard It In A Past Life.

“So much of this record is about the process,” Rogers said in a self-narrated announcement video for Notes From The Archive. “It’s about honoring the time it takes to come to a full form…I wanted to give you the chance to hear me grow and hear me make mistakes, hear me change — because all of those pieces are really beautiful parts of my present, and I don’t feel complete without them in the world.”

The collection — sequenced in reverse chronological order — also features songs from Rogers’ earlier LPs, Blood Ballet and The Echo. The Grammy-nominee spoke further on the compilation in a cover story for Atmos. Read an excerpt below:

I’ve known for a long time that this is something I had to do before I put out another record, because there’s a part of me that’s so deeply missing from the story right now: the 10 years of work that have led up to this moment. I have a whole body of work that I don’t want to leave behind. This record feels like honoring that work, putting the pieces of the story back together, finding my way from bisected to whole. Now, I’ve finally been given the space to let ideas develop and let myself develop. And as I’ve been working on a new record, I see the pieces all coming together and coming full circle.

Rogers also helped beloved PBS program Sesame Street kick off its 51st season. Watch her performance of “It’s Nighttime” below along with her Notes From The Archive announcement video:

It’s Nighttime

Sesame Street
Maggie Rogers (See 17 videos)

Notes From The Archive Announcement Video

Notes From The Archive: Recordings 2011 – 2016 Tracklist:

  1. Celadon & Gold*
  2. Together*
  3. Steady Now*
  4. One More Afternoon*
  5. Blood Ballet
  6. Resonant Body
  7. Symmetry
  8. Little Joys
  9. On The Page
  10. James
  11. (Does It Feel Slow?)*
  12. New Song*
  13. Anybody
  14. Kids Like Us
  15. Wolves
  16. Satellite

*never-before-heard songs

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook