Lucy Dacus Announces New Album ‘Home Video,’ Shares Single & Confirms North American Tour

By Scott Bernstein Apr 13, 2021 11:28 am PDT

Singer-songwriter Lucy Dacus will release her third studio album, Home Video, via Matador Records on June 25. Dacus previewed the 11-track LP, which she will support with a North American tour this fall, by unveiling lead single “Hot & Heavy” as well as an accompanying video.

Lucy reflects on her formative years for the auto-biographical Home Video, the follow-up to 2018’s Historian and her debut 2016 album No Burden. Dacus recorded the album at Nashville’s Trace Horse Studio with Jacob Blizard, Collin Pastore and Jake Flinch. Plus, Lucy’s boygenius band mates — Julien Baker and Phoebe Bridgers — added vocals on two songs.

Dacus kicks off her North American Fall Tour 2021 at The National in Richmond with Baker headlining on September 10 and Lucy headlining on September 11. The singer-songwriter then brings the run to Saxapahaw (North Carolina), Atlanta, Nashville, Dallas, Houston, Austin, San Antonio, Tucson, Los Angeles, Santa Ana (California), San Francisco and Vancouver over the remainder of the month.

October dates include stops in Portland (Oregon), Seattle, Salt Lake City, Iowa City, Minneapolis, Chicago, Columbus, Toronto, Montreal, Boston, Burlington, Philadelphia, Washington D.C. and Brooklyn. Tickets go on sale this Friday, April 16 at 10 a.m. local time.

“Hot & Heavy” comes after Dacus released Home Video track “Thumbs” last month. “I thought I was writing ‘Hot & Heavy’ about an old friend, but I realized along the way that it was just about me outgrowing past versions of myself,” Lucy said regarding her new single. “So much of life is submitting to change and saying goodbye even if you don’t want to. Now whenever I go to places that used to be significant to me, it feels like trespassing the past. I know that the teen version of me wouldn’t approve of me now, and that’s embarrassing and a little bit heartbreaking, even if I know intellectually that I like my life and who I am.”

Dacus filmed the self-directed “Hot & Heavy” video at Richmond’s Byrd Theatre. “I knew I wanted to include some of the home video footage that my dad took of me while I was growing up. I wanted to visualize the moment when you first reflect on your childhood, which I think can also be the moment that childhood is over,” Lucy added. “For me, I feel like there was a hard switch when I started releasing music, when my identity went from being a personal project to something publicly observed and reflected. I asked my family (shoutout to my grandma) and some of my closest friends to be extras because they’re the people that knew me before that switch. I may have dropped out of film school, but I still love making movies and had a really fun time directing this one.”

Watch Lucy Dacus’ “Hot & Heavy” video below:

Home Video Tracklist

  1. Hot & Heavy
  2. Christine
  3. First Time
  4. VBS
  5. Cartwheel
  6. Thumbs
  7. Going Going Gone
  8. Partner In Crime
  9. Brando
  10. Please Stay
  11. Triple Dog Dare

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections