Listen to Chuck Berry’s Posthumous New Single ‘Wonderful Woman’ Featuring Gary Clark Jr.


Last month, innovative guitarist Chuck Berry died at the age of 90. A few days later news of a new studio album titled Chuck was announced along with the LP’s lead single. Today, The New Yorker has shared another single from the album which is due on June 9.

The single, “Wonderful Woman,” is one of 10 tracks on the first new Chuck Berry album in 38 years. Berry’s last album of new material was the 1979 LP Rock It. Chuck wrote “Wonderful Woman” about his wife of 68 years, Themetta (Toddy) Berry, according to The New Yorker. Austin-based guitarist Gary Clark Jr. contributed to the track as did Chuck’s grandson, daughter and son.

“This record is dedicated to my beloved Toddy,” Berry had said about Chuck prior to his passing. “My darlin’ I’m growing old! I’ve worked on this record for a long time. Now I can hang up my shoes!” All 10 tracks on the LP were recorded by Chuck at various studios around St. Louis. His longtime band – including his children Charles Berry Jr. (guitar) and Ingrid Berry (vocals, harmonica), plus Jimmy Marsala (Berry’s bassist for forty years), Robert Lohr (piano) and Keith Robinson (drums) appear on the LP. Other guests besides Clark Jr. on Chuck are Tom Morello, Nathaniel Rateliff and grandson Charles Berry III.

Listen to “Wonderful Woman” below:

Chuck Tracklist

  1. Wonderful Woman
  2. Big Boys
  3. You Go To My Head
  4. 3/4 Time (Enchiladas)
  5. Darlin’
  6. Lady B. Goode
  7. She Still Loves You
  8. Jamaica Moon
  9. Dutchman
  10. Eyes of Man