King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Gives Flight To New Song ‘Sad Pilot’ In Germany

Check out video of the fresh tune along with full show audio.

By Nate Todd May 17, 2024 10:24 am PDT

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard continued their European Tour at Stadthalle in Offenbach, Germany on Thursday. The Australian outfit unveiled a new song, “Sad Pilot,” five songs into their set.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard — Stu Mackenzie, Joey Walker, Michael Cavanagh, Ambrose Kenny-Smith, Cook Craig and Lucas Harwood — launched their European trek in Brussels on Wednesday where they offered the live premiere of PetroDragonic Apocalypse closer “Flamethrower.”


The band kicked off their concert in Offenbach with a seven-song non-stop segment beginning with three sequential tracks from the band’s 2016 album, Nonagon Infinity: “Gamma Knife,” “People-Vultures” and “Mr. Beat.”

Next, Ambrose Kenny-Smith broke out his harmonica for “Boogie Man Sam” off 2019’s Fishing for Fishies. Kenny-Smith and guitarist Joey Walker then traded vocal duties on the debut of “Sad Pilot.” The song was characterized by a blues-tinged riff from Walker over a shuffling, funky beat from Cavanagh. Watch KGLW unveil “Sad Pilot” below:

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (See 100 videos)

The seamless sequence continued with “Hot Water,” which saw Kenny-Smith picking up his saxophone, and finally “Sea of Trees.” The latter contained a “Hot Water” call back as well as a “Chang’e” jam — from the band’s latest studio album, 2023’s The Silver Cord — complete with lyrics.

Next, KGLW invited a fan onstage to help sing the first part of “Nuclear Fusion” off 2017’s Flying Microtonal Banana. King Gizz then offered a pair of tunes off their 2020 album K.G., beginning with “Minimum Brain Size” and the excellent Kenny-Smith-led song “Straws in the Wind.”

The final five songs of the set saw the band turning to their thrash material kicking off with three tracks from their 2019 album, Infest the Rats Nest. The first, “Self-Immolate,” was dedicated to frequent visual collaborator Jason Galea and contained a drum solo from Cavs. The band continued with “Planet B” and “Perihelion.”

PetroDragonic Apocalypse favorite “Gila Monster” followed before King Gizzard wrapped with the thrashy Omnium Gathering cut, “Gaia,” which boasted yet another drum solo from Cavanagh.

Listen to the complete show below via Tora Tapes

King Gizzard’s European Tour continues tomorrow in Prague. Find their full itinerary with ticket info below.

Loading tour dates


Setlist (via

Set 1: Gamma Knife > People-Vultures > Mr. Beat -> Boogieman Sam -> Sad Pilot[1] -> Hot Water -> Sea of Trees, Nuclear Fusion, Minimum Brain Size, Straws In The Wind, Self-Immolate[2] > Planet B, Perihelion, Gila Monster, Gaia[2]


  • [1] Debut
  • [2] With drum solo
  • Show Notes: This show featured the debut of Sad Pilot. Nuclear Fusion included a fan providing the opening vocals. Gamma Knife contained a Motor Spirit tease. Mr. Beat contained a Sea of Trees tease. Hot Water featured Ambrose on saxophone and Witchcraft teases. Sea of Trees contained Hot Water teases and a Chang’e (Extended) jam with lyrics. Minimum Brain Size was introduced as a song about Neanderthals. Straws In the Wind contained quotes of Smoke & Mirrors and Iron Lung. Self-Immolate was dedicated to Jason Galea and featured a drum solo by Cavs. Gaia also featured a drum solo by Cavs.

    Opening Band(s): Grace Cummings

    KGLW European Tour

JamBase Collections