Khruangbin & Leon Bridges Announce New EP ‘Texas Sun’ & Share Title Track

By Andy Kahn Dec 3, 2019 9:39 am PST

Khruangbin and Leon Bridges will release a collaborative EP entitled Texas Sun on February 7 via Dead Oceans/Columbia Records/Night Time Stories Ltd. The two Texas-native acts shared the EP’s title track.

“We try not to have too much of an intention, because it gets in the way of what the music wants to do,” Khruangbin bassist Laura Lee stated. “If you just let the music do what it’s supposed to do, it will reveal itself. We tried to take that same approach with Leon. For us, it was opening up our world to have another person in it. But all of it feels like Texas to me.

“Big sky country, that’s what they call Texas. The horizon line goes all the way from one side to another without interruption. There’s something really comforting about that. It all feels like a cross-country Texas drive to me. I hope that people can listen to it while putting themselves in that headspace. Some of my favorite moments listening to music are me by myself in a car—or preferably a truck—driving across Texas.”

The Fort Worth native Bridges, who toured with Khruangbin in 2018, joined the trio on stage for “Texas Sun” at their recent hometown show in Houston. Listen to their collaborative “Texas Sun” below:

Texas Sun Tracklist

  1. Texas Sun
  2. Midnight
  3. C-Side
  4. Conversion
JamBase Collections