Khruangbin & Leon Bridges Announce ‘Texas Moon’ EP & Share Single

Watch the video for the lead single "B-Side."

By Andy Kahn Dec 8, 2021 9:01 am PST

Khruangbin and Leon Bridges will release a new EP, Texas Moon, on February 18 through Dead Oceans, in partnership with Columbia Records and Night Time Stories Ltd. The Texas-based musicians shared a video for the EP’s lead single, “B-Side.”

The five-song Texas Moon follows the previous Khruangbin and Bridges collaborative EP, Texas Sun, which came out in February 2020. Fort Worth native Bridges and the members of Houston’s Khruangbin — guitarist Mark Speer, bassist Laura Lee and drummer Donald “DJ” Johnson — drew inspiration from their shared home state.

“Without joy, there can be no real perspective on sorrow,” Khruangbin stated. “Without sunlight, all this rain keeps things from growing. How can you have the sun without the moon?”

Khruangbin, who joined Bridges on tour in 2018 and on stage at other times since, released their latest studio album, Mordechai, in June 2020. The trio enlisted outside producers to create a remix album, Mordechai Remixes that came out earlier this year. Bridges’ most recent LP, Gold Diggers Sound, was also released in 2021. Khruangbin and Bridges appeared (separately) on a recent episode of Austin City Limits.

Among the five songs on Texas Moon is “Doris,” which proved particularly poignant given its lyrical content.

“The song ‘Doris’ is about [Bridges’] grandmother making the transition from this world to the next realm,” Johnson stated. “It’s a very somber, very deep record. And when someone places that kind of work into your hands, the last thing you want to do is junk it up, overproduce it, or do too much. We treated it with the respect it deserved, and treated Doris with the respect she deserves.”

“It’s like a short story…,” Lee added. “And it leaves room to continue having these stories together. It’s not Khruangbin, it’s not Leon, it’s this world we created together.”

Recorded by director Philip Andelman at the J. Lorraine Ghost Town outside Austin and featuring Bridges, Johnson, Lee and Speer, watch the “B-Side” video below:

Texas Moon Tracklist

  1. Doris
  2. B-Side
  3. Chocolate Hills
  4. Father Father
  5. Mariella
  • The JamBase Podcast: Khruangbin's Mark Speer & DJ Johnson

    The JamBase Podcast: Khruangbin's Mark Speer & DJ Johnson 

  • Watch Leon Bridges & Khruangbin Perform On ‘Austin City Limits’

    Watch Leon Bridges & Khruangbin Perform On ‘Austin City Limits’ 

  • Watch Leon Bridges Join Khruangbin At Hinterland

    Watch Leon Bridges Join Khruangbin At Hinterland 

JamBase Collections