Kevin Morby Announces ‘A Night At The Little Los Angeles’ Demos Album & Shares Single

Listen to "Campfire (4-Track Demo)" from the 4-Track demo version of 'Sundowner.'

By Scott Bernstein Aug 18, 2021 8:39 am PDT

Kevin Morby will put out A Night At The Little Los Angeles, a 4-track demo rendition of his 2020 album Sundowner, on Dead Oceans October 8. The singer-songwriter released “Campfire (4-Track Demo)” to give fans a taste of what to expect.

Morby recorded the demos at “The Little Los Angeles,” the back shed of his home, in the summer and winter of 2017 and 2018. The 10-track collection reveals Kevin’s songwriting process by presenting the initial sketches of Sundowner.

“When I later went into a proper studio to make what would become Sundowner, my goal was to capture the essence of these initial recordings, and here you will now have access to the very essence I was chasing,” Morby noted in a press release. “Many of my favorite recordings have been made inside of an artist’s home with little to no regard of the outside world, but instead deep in their own that they are building in real time,” added Morby. “And with that – I’d like to invite you into my own little world here and now and ask you to please step inside and spend A Night At The Little Los Angeles.”

Stream “Campfire (4-Track Demo)” below:

A Night At The Little Los Angeles Tracklist

  1. Campfire (4-Track Demo)
  2. Sundowner (4-Track Demo)
  3. A Night At The Little Los Angeles (4-Track Demo)
  4. Wander (4-Track Demo)
  5. Velvet Highway (4-Track Demo)
  6. Valley (4-Track Demo)
  7. Brother, Sister (4-Track Demo)
  8. Don’t Underestimate Midwest American Sun (4-Track Demo)
  9. Provisions (4-Track Demo)
  10. U.S. Mail (4-Track Demo)
JamBase Collections