Keller Williams Announces New Album & 2018 Fall Tour

By Scott Bernstein Jul 17, 2018 11:27 am PDT

Multi-instrumentalist Keller Williams will issue his first all instrumental album Sans on October 19. Williams will celebrate the release of Sans with an album release party at Brooklyn Bowl in New York City that night as part of an extensive Fall Tour.

Sans, as in without lyrics, is my first attempt at an instrumental record. Acoustic instruments interwoven with technology, brings these rhythmic pieces to life,” reads a note from Keller about the forthcoming album. “I’m trying to release something like the music I listen to. I think I got close with this one.” The LP features eight tracks that were originally presented as solo guitar pieces as well as a new song. Williams fused acoustic bass and both live and sampled drums to create what Keller has referred to as “acoustic dance music.”

Keller Williams opens his 2018 Fall Tour in Colorado with Keller Williams’ PettyGrass featuring The HillBenders performances in Boulder on September 7 and Bellvue on September 8. Williams then embarks on a run of solo dates that includes stops in Westbury (New York), Easton (Pennsylvania) and Greenfield (Massachusetts). He goes on to reunite with The HillBenders for PettyGrass performances in Michigan on September 20 and Ohio on September 21. It’s then off to the Glass Half Full Festival for a set featuring More Than A Litte on September 22.

Williams ends September with a solo set at the Adventure Grass Music Festival in Oak Hill, West Virginia. From there, Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass plays the Huck Finn Jubilee in Ontario, California on October 5 before Keller performs at the Belly Up in Solana Beach, California on October 6. Keller goes solo once again in Pensacola, Florida on October 11 then teams with The HillBenders to bring PettyGrass to the Suwannee Roots Festival in Live Oak, Florida on October 12. A run of solo dates comes next including stops in Athens, Brooklyn, Ardmore (Pennsylvania) and Santa Cruz.

Keller Williams’ PettyGrass featuring The HillBenders performs at the Hangtown Music Festival in Placerville, California and at Sweetwater Music Hall in Mill Valley, California in late October. The Petty tribute then comes to the UtopiaFest in Burnet, Texas to start November ahead of a visit to Brooklyn Bowl Las Vegas on November 3. Next, Williams teams with Danton Boller for a series of Keller Williams’ Duo dates in Chicago on November 8, Evanston on November 9 and Ann Arbor on November 10. New England then gets a dose of PettyGrass with concerts scheduled for Portland, Maine on November 14; Concord, New Hampshire on November 15 and Cabot, Massachussets on November 16. Finally, Keller is currently scheduled to end the fall with solo dates in Wisconsin and Minnesota.

Listen to “Ticks When Told” off Sans below:

Sans Tracklist

  1. Fat B
  2. Newness
  3. Ticks When Told
  4. Rosahamboagogo
  5. M&Ms
  6. Gracias Leo
  7. Sheebs
  8. Sorry From The Shower
  9. The Cabella Vibe

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections