Keb’ Mo’ Announces New Album ‘Good To Be’ & Shares Single Featuring Darius Rucker

Watch the music video for Keb' Mo's "Good Strong Woman" featuring Hootie & The Blowfish's frontman.

By Nate Todd Oct 14, 2021 9:57 am PDT

Keb’ Mo’ will issue a new album, Good To Be, via Rounder Records on January 21, 2022. The five-time Grammy-winning singer-songwriter and guitarist also shared the single, “Good Stong Woman,” featuring Darius Rucker.

Keb’ Mo’ co-produced Good To Be with country star Vince Gill, who worked on three of the LP’s 13 tracks, along with fellow Grammy-winner Tom Hambridge (B.B. King, Buddy Guy). While some of the songs on the album like “Quiet Moments” — which features Kristin Chenoweth — date back to the 1970s, others were written during the pandemic as Keb’ Mo’, the stage name of Kevin Moore, was forced off the road and split his time between his adopted home of Nashville and his hometown in Compton, California. Moore returned to Compton where he purchased and renovated his late mother’s house, which saw the musician “reflecting on the idea of home, contemplating what it means to belong and what it takes to stay true to yourself,” as per a press release for Good To Be.

“You can’t bring an attitude to Compton,” Moore said. “You can’t pose. You can’t be anything but real when you’re walking down the same streets you used to ride your bike on as a kid. In a lot of ways, coming back there felt like it completed me.”

Addtionally, Old Crow Medicine Show make a guest appearance on the record, contributing to the previously released Good To Be track “The Medicine Man,” along with Rucker on “Good Strong Woman.” Moore detailed the new single with Rucker.

“I cowrote this with two of Nashville’s best country writers, Jason Nix and Jason Gantt,” Keb’ said. “It’s a song that I didn’t think I’d be recording, but it was just too much fun, and I had to give it a shot. When Darius got involved, it went from fun to stun.”

“Good Strong Woman” arrived along with an accompanying music video featuring footage from the studio. Watch it below:

Good To Be Tracklist:

  1. Good To Be (Home Again)
  2. So Easy
  3. Sunny and Warm
  4. Good Strong Woman (feat. Darius Rucker)
  5. The Medicine Man (feat. Old Crow Medicine Show)
  6. Marvelous to Me
  7. Lean on Me
  8. Like Love
  9. Dressed Up in Blue
  10. ‘62 Chevy
  11. Louder
  12. So Good to Me
  13. Quiet Moments (feat. Kristin Chenoweth)
JamBase Collections