Jack White Plays Surprise Set At Glastonbury

Watch pro-shot video featuring performances of The White Stripes classics "Ball And Biscuit" and "Seven Nation Army."

By Nate Todd Jun 27, 2022 12:43 pm PDT

Jack White delivered a surprise set at England’s Glastonbury Festival on Sunday. The singer-songwriter and guitarist offered a career-spanning set of favorites from his solo catalog, The White Stripes, The Raconteurs and more.

  • Dave Grohl & Bruce Springsteen Join Paul McCartney At Glastonbury

    Dave Grohl & Bruce Springsteen Join Paul McCartney At Glastonbury

    Paul McCartney welcomed Dave Grohl and Bruce Springsteen for guest appearances during his Glastonbury Festival performance on Saturday.

On Sunday morning, an ad in the Glastonbury Free Press read: “Exciting opportunity in the field of audience science. Musician Jack White is seeking 10,000 lively and loud individuals to participate in a top secret experiment of musical concertry. Qualified applicants must apply in person on 26 June at 6pm at The Park Stage.”

Jack and his stellar band — drummer Daru Jones, bassist Dominic John Davis and keyboardist Quincy McCrary — got the surprise set underway with a pair of songs from his new album Fear Of The Dawn beginning with the lead single, “Taking Me Back,” followed by the title track. The guitarist then really took it back with The White Stripes classic “Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground” ahead of “Love Interruption” off his 2012 debut solo album Blunderbuss.

White then followed with another “love” song, “Love Is Selfish,” a single from his second release of 2022, Entering Heaven Alive, due out on July 22 via his Third Man Records. While the single arrived in January, Jack introduced the song as being written “two and a half days ago.”

After the White Stripes acoustic favorite “Hotel Yorba” and the title track to his 2014 solo record Lazaretto, White dipped into material from his Dead Weather project with “I Cut Like A Buffalo” ahead of Fear Of The Dawn’s “What’s The Trick?” The guitarist would dedicate the rest of the set to White Stripes and Raconteurs material including the former’s “I’m Slowly Turning Into You” and “Cannon” as well as the latter’s “You Don’t Understand Me” and “Steady, As She Goes.”

The tail end of the set featured Stripes classics including the raucous “Ball And Biscuit” and the rousing closer “Seven Nation Army.” Watch pro-shot video of those performances below:

BBC Music (See 2,730 videos)
Jack White (See 29 videos)

BBC Music (See 2,730 videos)
Jack White (See 29 videos)

Loading band summary


Jack White at Worthy Farm

  • Kick Out the Jams  
  • Taking Me Back
  • Fear of the Dawn
  • Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground  
  • Love Interruption
  • Love Is Selfish  
  • Hotel Yorba  
  • Lazaretto
  • I Cut Like a Buffalo  
  • What's the Trick?
  • I'm Slowly Turning Into You  
  • You Don't Understand Me  
  • Cannon  
  • Ball and Biscuit  
  • Steady, as She Goes  
  • Seven Nation Army  
JamBase Collections