Jack White Announces ‘Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016’ Compilation


Guitarist Jack White will release a career spanning compilation Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016 through his Third Man Records and Columbia/XL Recordings on September 9. As the name implies, the 26-track double-LP and double-CD features White’s unplugged recordings from the past several years.

The new record features remastered alternate takes, mixes and previously unreleased recordings from White’s solo projects, his group The Raconteurs and from his time in The White Stripes. Among the 26 tracks is the previously unreleased The White Stripes song “City Lights,” marking the first time since 2008 that new music from the now defunct duo has been commercially issued. Originally prepared for the band’s 2005 LP Get Behind Me Satan the song was recently rediscovered by White when prepping a different Record Store Day release.

Music journalist Greil Marcus wrote this regarding “City Lights” for the compilation’s liner notes:

This, like (Son House’s) “Grinnin’ In Your Face,” is mirror-music, the singer talking to himself, trying to tell himself the truth, which he’s going to need if he’s going to step out of his door, walk into the world, and fool himself, for just a second, that he’s ready to take it on. As you listen, it’s no surprise at all that it took most of White’s music-making life to bring the song home.

Listen to “City Lights” followed by a trailer for the release here:

Head here for complete details on the acoustic compilation and for pre-order information.

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998 – 2016 Tracklist

Side A

  1. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
  2. Apple Blossom (Remixed)
  3. I’m Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)
  4. Hotel Yorba
  5. We’re Going To Be Friends
  6. You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket
  7. Well It’s True That We Love One Another
  8. Never Far Away

Side B

  1. Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)
  2. White Moon
  3. As Ugly As I Seem
  4. City Lights (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
  5. Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap
  6. Effect & Cause

Side C

  1. Love Is The Truth (Acoustic Mix)
  2. Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)
  3. Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)
  4. Love Interruption
  5. On And On And On
  6. Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)

Side D

  1. Blunderbuss
  2. Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)
  3. I Guess I Should Go To Sleep (Alternate Mix)
  4. Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)
  5. Entitlement
  6. Want And Able