Iggy Pop Announces New Album ‘Free’ & Shares Single


Iggy Pop will release a new album entitled Free on September 6 via Loma Vista. The legendary rocker shared the album’s title track as its lead single.

Pop’s most recent studio album was 2016’s Post Pop Depression, which the 72-year-old previously hinted would be his final record. Pop worked with Leron Thomas and Noveller on the “uniquely somber and contemplative” Free. Here’s Iggy on the new 10-track LP:

This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…

By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.

Pre-order Free via this link and stream its title track below:

Free Tracklist

  1. Free
  2. Loves Missing
  3. Sonali
  4. James Bond
  5. Dirty Sanchez
  6. Glow In The Dark
  7. Page
  8. We Are The People
  9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
  10. The Dawn

Tour Dates for
Iggy Pop

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for Iggy Pop.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when Iggy Pop announces shows in your area.