The Hold Steady Announces New Album ‘Open Door Policy’ & Shares Single

By Andy Kahn Dec 1, 2020 9:24 am PST

The Hold Steady will release their eighth studio album, Open Door Policy, on Friday, February 19 through their Positive Jams label via Thirty Tigers. The band led by Craig Finn shared the lead single, “Family Farm.”

The Hold Steady recorded Open Door Policy with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin at The Clubhouse in Rhinebeck, New York. Guests on the album include Stuart Bogie and Jordan McLean on horns, Cassandra Jenkins and Annie Nero on backing vocals and Matt Barrick on percussion. The album is the second to feature a lineup of Finn on guitar, Bobby Drake on drums, Tad Kubler on guitar, Franz Nicolay on keyboards, Galen Polivka on bass and Steve Selvidge on guitar.

Here’s how Finn described the making of the record:

Open Door Policy was very much approached as an album vs. a collection of individual songs, and it feels like our most musically expansive record. This album was written and almost entirely recorded before the pandemic started, but the songs and stories explore power, wealth, mental health, technology, capitalism, consumerism, and survival – issues which have compounded in 2020.

The Hold Steady will host their annual “Massive Nights” run of shows at Brooklyn Bowl in New York on December 3, 4 and 5. The “Massive Nights” concerts will livestream via Fans.Live. Ticket information is available here.

Stream “Family Farm” below:

Open Door Policy Tracklist

  1. The Feelers
  2. Spices
  3. Lanyards
  4. Family Farm
  5. Unpleasant Breakfast
  6. Heavy Covenant
  7. The Prior Procedure
  8. Riptown
  9. Me & Magdalena
  10. Hanover Camera
  11. Parade Days [Digital Only]
JamBase Collections