The Hold Steady Announces New Album ‘Thrashing Thru The Passion’ & Shares Single

By Andy Kahn Jun 19, 2019 7:35 am PDT

The Hold Steady will release a new album entitled Thrashing Thru The Passion on August 16 via Frenchkiss Records. The album features five previously released tracks and five new songs, including the lead single “Denver Haircut.”

The Hold Steady recorded the five new songs on Thrashing Thru The Passion with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin at The Isokon in Woodstock, New York. The five other songs came out digitally between November 2017 and March 2019. Guest contributions were provided by a horn section made up of Stuart Bogie, Dave Nelson, Jordan McLean and Michael Leonhart and backing vocalist Annie Nero.

“The new songs recorded by this version of the band are super exciting to us,” stated frontman Craig Finn. “It’s been a very fun and creative period for The Hold Steady … ‘Denver Haircut’ is a story about a guy who has a chance meet up that takes him to a few different locations before leaving him alone and cashless in a strange hotel room. Steve Selvidge (guitarist) brought in the music to this song and everyone felt it immediately, it was really fun to play. The story unfolded quickly too. When recording, we remarked that it sounded like it could kick off an album … and so here we are.”

Listen to “Denver Haircut” below:

Thrashing Thu The Passion Tracklist

  1. Denver Haircut
  2. Epaulets
  3. You Did Good Kid
  4. Traditional Village
  5. Blackout Sam
  6. Entitlement Crew
  7. T-Shirt Tux
  8. Star 18
  9. The Stove & The Toaster
  10. Confusion In The Marketplace
JamBase Collections