Greensky Bluegrass Closes Run With Holly Bowling In Seattle

Holly teamed with the band for a keyboard jam, a debut cover of Nirvana's "Come As You Are" and much more.

By Nate Todd Nov 21, 2021 11:43 am PST

Greensky Bluegrass wrapped up their 2021 Fall West Coast leg with Holly Bowling in a two-night stand at The Showbox in Seattle on Friday and Saturday. As they’ve done the entire run, GSBG welcomed the keyboardist for the complete second set and encore with Friday night boasting a debut of Nirvana’s “Come As You Are” while Saturday saw GSBG joining Holly on keys as well as covers from The Allman Brothers Band, Phish and Survivor.

Greensky Bluegrass — mandolinist Paul Hoffman, guitarist Dave Bruzza, banjoist Michael Bont, bassist Mike Devol and dobro player Anders Beck — got Friday underway with “Grow Together,” a single from their upcoming album, Stress Dreams. The first set also saw a cover of Dawes’ “Quitter,” the 2021 debut of bluegrass standard “White House Blues” and closed out with the Dave Bruzza-penned “Worried About The Weather,” which contained a “Light Up Or Leave Me Alone” tease calling back to the band’s show in Portland the night before.

Friday’s second set saw Bowling joining the band, which has been dubbed 6reensky, for the entire frame beginning with “In Control” from Greensky’s landmark 2014 album, If Sorrows Swim, followed by “Cold Feet” and “Wish I Didn’t Know.” “Train Junkie” then encompassed the debut of Nirvana’s “Come As You Are” in the legendary grunge band’s hometown. The sextet closed out the second set with a cover of the Steve-Winwood co-written Spencer Davis Group classic “Gimme Some Lovin.’” For the encore, 6reensky welcomed crew member Josh Limpert on tambourine for “Burn Them.”

Saturday kicked off with The Stanley Brothers bluegrass standard “How Mountain Girls Can Love.” After “Do Harm,” a cover of Cris Jacobs’ “Done Digger” contained a tease of the traditional “Cluck Old Hen.” GSBG brought the first frame to a close with their toggle between “Tarpology” and “One Slip.”

The 6reensky set got going with all five members of GSBG joining Holly on keys for the staple “Windshield.” Photographer Dylan Langille helped the group out on woodblock for “Fixin’ To Ruin” before 6reensky went it alone on the title track to Stress Dreams. “The Four” would see a vocal appearance from Anders along with a lyric change referencing “the six of us.”

6reensky also offered a cover of The Allman Brother Band’s “Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More” on what would have been Duane Allman’s 75th birthday. The second set came to a close with “Kerosene.” The encore kicked off with Phish’s “Chalkdust Torture” which led into Survivor’s rousing Rocky III soundtrack classic “Eye Of The Tiger” to bring the evening and tour to a close.

Watch clips from GSBG’s weekend with Holly Bowling in Seattle shared by ZZYX below:

Setlists (via Camp Greensky)

Friday, November 19

Set One: Grow Together, Hit Parade of Love, Dustbowl Overtures, It’s Not Mine Anymore, Whitehouse Blues, Quitter, I’m Still Here, Ashes, Worried About the Weather [1]

Set Two: In Control, Cold Feet, Wish I Didn’t Know > Train Junkie > Come As You Are [2][3] > Train Junkie, For Sure Uh Huh, Living Over, Reverend, Broke Mountain Breakdown [4] > Gimme Some Lovin’

Encore: Burn Them [5]

* Second set and encore with Holly Bowling as 6reensky

  • [1] “Light Up or Leave Me Alone” tease
  • [2] Debut – Nirvana
  • [3] Unfinished
  • [4] “Demons” tease
  • [5] Josh Limpert on tambourine

Saturday, November 20

Set One: How Mountain Girls Can Love, Do Harm, Bone Digger [1], Like Reflections, Wheelhoss, Federico, No Idea [2], Working on a Building, Tarpology > One Slip > Tarpology > One Slip > Tarpology

Set Two: Windshield [3], Room Without a Roof, Fixin’ to Ruin [4], Stress Dreams, The Four [5] [6] [7] > Wings for Wheels, Ain’t Wasting Time No More, Kerosene

Encore: Chalkdust Torture > Eye of the Tiger

* Second set and encore with Holly Bowling as 6reensky

  • [1] “Cluck Old Hen” tease
  • [2] “Demons” tease
  • [3] Every band member on keys
  • [4] With Dylan Langille on woodblock
  • [5] Lyric change “forgot about the six of us”
  • [6] Anders on vocals
  • [7] “Don’t Lie” tease
  • Greensky Bluegrass Welcomes Holly Bowling & Pete Kartsounes In Bend

    Greensky Bluegrass Welcomes Holly Bowling & Pete Kartsounes In Bend 

  • Holly Bowling Joins Greensky Bluegrass In Los Angeles

    Holly Bowling Joins Greensky Bluegrass In Los Angeles 

  • Greensky Bluegrass Welcomes Holly Bowling In San Diego

    Greensky Bluegrass Welcomes Holly Bowling In San Diego 

JamBase Collections