Z2 Comics Reveals ‘Grateful Dead Origins’ Soundtrack Tracklist


Z2 Comics tapped Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux to put together a soundtrack for the forthcoming Grateful Dead Origins graphic novel. The standard edition of the book comes with an exclusive download featuring 13 GD tracks, while a limited run collector’s deluxe edition adds tracks from a previously unreleased live Grateful Dead performance that took place on August 21, 1968 at San Francisco’s Fillmore West on vinyl. Both are due in April.

Grateful Dead Origins tells the tale of the formation of the band and their early days as The Warlocks through their transformation into cultural and musical icons. The graphic novel was written by Chris Miskiewicz and features illustrations from Noah Van Sciver. The Grateful Dead’s August 21, 1968 performance included on the vinyl with the deluxe edition contains the first known West Coast version of “St. Stephen” and what’s thought to be the debut of the song’s “William Tell Bridge.” Engineer David Glasser mastered the 8-track analog tape for vinyl.

Grateful Dead Origins Soundtrack Tracklist

  1. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion) – from Grateful Dead
  2. Cream Puff War – from Rare Cuts
  3. Walking The Dog – from Rare Cuts
  4. Viola Lee Blues – from Road Trips 2/2/68
  5. Hey Little One – from Rare Cuts
  6. That’s It For The Other One – from Anthem Of The Sun
  7. Midnight Hour – from 1966 30 Trips
  8. Standing On The Corner – from Rare Cuts
  9. China Cat Sunflower – from Aoxomoxoa
  10. Big Railroad Blues – from Rare Cuts
  11. Morning Dew – from Grateful Dead
  12. Keep Rolling By – from 1966 30 Trips
  13. Cosmic Charlie – from Aoxomoxoa

Grateful Dead Origins Deluxe Edition LP Tracklist – August 21, 1968 @ Fillmore West

Side 1

  1. Dark Star (14:33)
  2. St. Stephen (04:45)

Side 2

  1. The Eleven (11:07)
  2. Death Don’t Have No Mercy (08:09)