Grateful Dead Dave’s Picks Volume 8 Details Emerge

Grateful Dead legacy manager David Lemieux will soon hold a live chat to discuss a number of projects. As part of the chat, Lemieux will reveal that the Dead’s famed November 30, 1980 performance from the Fox Theater in Atlanta, GA will be featured on Dave’s Picks -Volume 8.

Last fall Nick Paumgarten wrote an extensive feature on the Grateful Dead for the New Yorker and discussed how the second set from the Dead’s Fox ’80 show was a “sacred object” among him and his friends which brought the show into the spotlight. Paumgarten, who must be quite excited about this release, has penned the liner notes for Dave’s Picks Volume 8. Keyboardist Brent Mydland was now over a year into his tenure as a member of the Grateful Dead and was in fine form on that evening. Among the many highlights played at the Fox on November 30, 1980 are outstanding takes on song sequences “Sailor” > “Saint” and “Scarlet” > “Fire” as well as an exquisite “Playin’ In The Band.”

Lemieux has shared a “seaside chat” in which he discusses the new release and we’re pleased to hear there’s a good bit of Dr. Bob Wagner’s audience recording mixed in with the soundboard. Check out all of Lemieux’s discussion on Dave’s Picks -Volume 8:

Here’s the setlist from the Grateful Dead’s November 30, 1980 show:

Set One: Feel Like A Stranger, Loser, Cassidy, Ramble On Rose, Little Red Rooster, Bird Song, Me & My Uncle > Big River, It Must Have Been The Roses, Lost Sailor > Saint Of Circumstance > Deal

Set Two: Scarlet Begonias > Fire On The Mountain > Samson & Delilah > Ship of Fools > Playin’ In The Band > Drums > The Wheel > China Doll > Around & Around > Johnny B. Goode

Encore: Uncle John’s Band

We expect pre-order information for Dave’s Picks -Volume 8 to be posted on soon.

UPDATE 10/8: Dave’s Picks -Volume 8 is available for pre-sale now via

Fox Theatre, Atlanta, GA 11/30/80 Tracklist

Disc 1
1 Feel Like A Stranger [9:19]
2 Loser [8:17]
3 Cassidy [5:14]
4 Ramble On Rose [7:55]
5 Little Red Rooster [9:33]
6 Bird Song [9:22]
7 Me and My Uncle> [2:59]
8 Big River [5:55]
9 It Must Have Been The Roses [7:13]

Disc 2
1 Lost Sailor> [6:34]
2 Saint Of Circumstance [6:31]
3 Deal [8:03]
4 Scarlet Begonias> [11:44]
5 Fire On The Mountain [10:50]
6 Samson And Delilah [7:40]
7 Ship Of Fools [8:49]

Disc 3
1 Playing In The Band> [15:53]
2 Drums> [11:25]
3 Space> [4:23]
4 The Wheel> [6:49]
5 China Doll> [6:50]
6 Around and Around> [4:01]
7 Johnny B. Goode [4:49]
8 Uncle John’s Band [7:46]