Grateful Dead Announces ‘Anthem Of The Sun’ 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition


The Grateful Dead and Rhino Records will continue their 50th anniversary reissue series with the release of Anthem Of The Sun: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition on July 13. A two-disc deluxe edition featuring the band’s 1968 album with newly remastered sound as well as a bonus disc of unreleased live recording will be available as will a 12-inch vinyl picture disc produced in a limited edition of 10,000 copies.

Disc One of Anthem Of The Sun: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition contains two versions of the original album, the first is a fully remastered original 1968 mix while the other is a fully remastered mix of the more common 1971 mix. The second disc consists of a previously unreleased complete live show the Dead played at Winterland in San Francisco on October 22, 1967. Jeffrey Norman remastered the first known recording of the Grateful Dead with drummer Mickey Hart, who came aboard the previous September.

“This is one the most thrilling albums the Grateful Dead ever produced, mixing portions of live recordings from the first six months of Mickey’s tenure with the band, along with studio experimentations that would hint at where the Dead would go when they started recording to 16-track tape the following year,” said archivist and producer David Lemieux in a press release. “The 1971 remix, produced in order to make the album more accessible to the newer fans who were brought on board with Workingman’s Dead and American Beauty, has been the most commonly heard version for the past 45+ years. However, having this side-by-side with the original 1968 mix demonstrates countless differences, with the original mix being more primal, psychedelic, and experimental. Add to this the first extant live recording featuring Mickey as a member of the Grateful Dead, and you have a very special release in every way.”

Both the Anthem Of The Sun 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition and picture disc are available for pre-order via

Anthem Of The Sun: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Tracklist

Disc One: Original 1968 Mix

  1. That’s It For The Other One
  2. New Potato Caboose
  3. Born Cross-Eyed
  4. Alligator
  5. Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)
  6. 1971 Remix

  7. That’s It For The Other One
  8. New Potato Caboose
  9. Born Cross-Eyed
  10. Alligator
  11. Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)

Disc Two: Winterland, San Francisco, CA, 10/22/67

  1. Morning Dew
  2. New Potato Caboose
  3. It Hurts Me Too
  4. Cold Rain & Snow
  5. Turn On Your Love Light
  6. Beat It On Down The Line
  7. That’s It For The Other One