Grateful Dead Selects Radio City 1980 Concerts For ‘Shakedown Stream’ Broadcast

Advertisement

The Grateful Dead‘s Shakedown Stream live archival video series returns on Friday, October 30. An airing of the Dead Ahead concert film featuring footage from the band’s October 30 and 31, 1980 shows at Radio City Music Hall in New York City is planned.

Dead Ahead captures the end of the Grateful Dead’s lengthy run of three-set shows that included 15 nights at The Warfield in San Francisco, two performances at New Orleans’ Saenger Theatre and eight concerts at Radio City. Each night of the run, which came in celebration of the band’s 15th anniversary, began with an acoustic set.

Advertisement

The concert film also featured vignettes starring Al Franken and Tom Davis. Franken will be the special guest of co-hosts David Lemieux and Gary Lambert for the pre-show next Friday.

Past installments of Shakedown Stream have started with a pre-show at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT followed by the concert footage around 8:45 p.m. ET/5:45 p.m. PT.

Advertisement
More Grateful Dead on JamBase
  • Grateful Dead Performs ‘Scarlet Begonias’ In 1974: Pro-Shot Video

    Grateful Dead Performs ‘Scarlet Begonias’ In 1974: Pro-Shot Video 

  • Grateful Dead Releases ‘American Beauty: The Angel’s Share’ Outtake Collection

    Grateful Dead Releases ‘American Beauty: The Angel’s Share’ Outtake Collection 

  • Grateful Dead ‘Dave’s Picks Volume 36’ Features Hartford 1987 Concerts

    Grateful Dead ‘Dave’s Picks Volume 36’ Features Hartford 1987 Concerts 

  • Grateful Dead Revives ‘Dark Star’ & ‘Attics Of My Life’ In Hampton On This Date In 1989

    Grateful Dead Revives ‘Dark Star’ & ‘Attics Of My Life’ In Hampton On This Date In 1989 

Advertisement
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive