Genesis To Release R-Kive Box Set

Yesterday, a post on the Genesis Facebook page promised that “exciting news” would be revealed today, which led to plenty of speculation about what the legendary prog-rockers had in store. This morning Genesis has announced the upcoming release of a new three-disc box set called R-Kive that compiles the band’s most-beloved songs in chronological order and even includes selections from the original member’s solo projects.

Those hoping for a tour announcement or at least more information about the new BBC documentary that brought together the five original members for the first time since 1975 are sure to be underwhelmed by today’s revelation.

is due out in the U.K. on September 22 with an international release expected to follow one week later. All in all, the compilation spans a time period of 42 years. “Genesis and their associated solo projects have accumulated a remarkable series of accomplishments over the years. They’ve collectively amassed an incredible 14 chart-topping albums, as well as over two dozen more that reached the top 10. In total, Genesis and the members’ related solo projects have sold more than 300 million albums worldwide,” states Universal Music, the company behind R-Kive.

Here’s the track listing for Genesis –R-Kive

Disc 1
‘The Knife’ from ‘Trepass’ (1970)
‘The Musical Box’ from ‘Nursery Cryme’ (1971)
‘Supper’s Ready’ from ‘Foxtrot’ (1972)
‘The Cinema Show’ from ‘Selling England by the Pound’ (1973)
‘I Know What I Like’ from ‘Selling England by the Pound’ (1973)
‘The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway’ from ‘The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway’ (1974)
‘Back in N.Y.C.’ from ‘The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway’ (1974)
‘The Carpet Crawlers’ from ‘The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway’ (1974)
‘Ace of Wands’ from Steve Hackett‘s ‘Voyage of the Acolyte’ (1975)

Disc 2
‘Ripples’ from ‘A Trick of the Tail’ (1976)
‘Afterglow’ from ‘Wind & Wuthering’ (1976)
‘Solsbury Hill’ from Peter Gabriel‘s first self-titled album (1977)
‘Follow You Follow Me’ from ‘And Then There Were Three’ (1978)
‘For a While’ from Tony Banks’ ‘A Curious Feeling’ (1979)
‘Every Day’ from Steve Hackett’s ‘Spectral Mornings’ (1979)
‘Biko’ from Peter Gabriel’s third self-titled album (1980)
‘Turn It On Again’ from ‘Duke’ (1980)
‘In the Air Tonight’ from Phil Collins’ ‘Face Value’ (1981)
‘Abacab’ from ‘Abacab’ (1981)
‘Mama’ from ‘Genesis’ (1983)
‘That’s All’ from ‘Genesis’ (1983)
‘Easy Lover’ (Phil Collins and Philip Bailey duet, originally released in 1984)
‘Silent Running’ from Mike + The Mechanics’ self-titled album (1985)

Disc 3
‘Invisible Touch’ from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
‘Land of Confusion’ from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
‘Tonight Tonight Tonight’ from ‘Invisible Touch’ (1986)
‘The Living Years’ from Mike + The Mechanics’ ‘Living Years’ (1989)
‘Red Day on Blue Street’ from Tony Banks’s ‘Still’ (1991)
‘I Can’t Dance’ from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
‘No Son of Mine’ from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
‘Hold On My Heart’ from ‘We Can’t Dance’ (1991)
‘Over My Shoulder’ from Mike + The Mechanics’ ‘Beggar on a Beach of Gold’ (1995)
‘Calling All Stations’ from ‘Calling All Stations’ (1997)
‘Signal to Noise’ from Peter Gabriel’s ‘Up’ (2002)
‘Wake Up Call’ from Phil Collins’ ‘Testify’ (2002)
‘Nomads’ from Steve Hackett’s ‘Out of the Tunnel’s Mouth’ (2009)
‘Siren’ from Tony Banks’ ‘Six: Pieces of Orchestra’ (2012)

[via Ultimate Classic Rock]