Frank Zappa Roxy By Proxy Finally Released

After numerous delays those who pre-ordered Frank Zappa’s Roxy By Proxy have finally received their CDs. The 13-track release was recorded at The Roxy in Los Angeles on December 9 and 10, 1973. Frank is listed as the producer of the project, which was mixed in 1987, though Gail Zappa and Joe Travers are listed as producers for the CD and compilation. John Polito mastered the CD in 2011 and it includes liner notes from band member Ruth Underwood.

Zappa was backed by arguably the best band he’s played with, including keyboardist George Duke, Ruth Underwood on percussion and Chester Thompson on drums for three shows at The Roxy on Dec. 8 – 10 that were shot in film by multiple cameras and multi-track recordings were made of the audio. We’re hopeful the film version of The Roxy Concerts, considered the “Holy Grail” of Frank Zappa releases, will soon follow.

Watch a sample of the Roxy footage:

Here’s the tracklist for Roxy By Proxy:

1. “Carved In The Rock”
2. Inca Roads
3. Penguin In Bondage
4. T’Mershi Duween
5. Dog Breath Variations/Uncle Meat
7. Village Of The Sun
8. Echidna’s Arf (Of You)
9. Don’t You Ever Wash That Thing
10. Cheepnis—Percussion
11. Cheepnis
12. Dupree’s Paradise
13. King Kong/Chunga’s Revenge/Mr Green Genes