Fleet Foxes Honor Tom Petty & Cover Phish In Chicago


Fleet Foxes continued a tour in support of Crack-Up with the first of two shows at the historic Chicago Theatre in Chicago on Tuesday night. The band reprised a quick cover of “Bouncing Around The Room” by Phish they had debuted over the summer and the encore started with a beautiful tribute to the late Tom Petty performed by frontman Robin Pecknold.

The Seattle-based band delivered a performance that included six tunes off Crack-Up, along with seven songs from their self-titled 2008 debut studio album and five from 2011’s Helplessness Blues. Included within was a partial take on “Textbook Love” played by request and a brief excerpt of “Bouncing Around The Room” similar to a July performance of the Phish classic. Fleet Foxes originally unveiled the light-hearted cover in response to the Vermont jam quartet’s debut performance of “White Winter Hymnal” at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

Pecknold returned by himself to start the encore. He talked about the madness of the Las Vegas massacre and presented an emotional rendition of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ Southern Accents gem “Don’t Come Around Here No More” as a protest to the mass shooting and in honor of Petty’s passing. Robin then played “Oliver James” ahead of the full band emerging for a show-closing take on “Crack-Up.”

Here’s fan-shot video of “Don’t Come Around Here No More”:



Fleet Foxes at The Chicago Theatre

  • I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar
  • Cassius, -
  • - Naiads, Cassadies
  • Grown Ocean
  • Ragged Wood
  • Your Protector
  • The Cascades
  • Mearcstapa
  • On Another Ocean (January / June)
  • Fool's Errand
  • He Doesn't Know Why
  • Battery Kinzie
  • Tiger Mountain Peasant Song  
  • Bouncing Around the Room  
  • Under the Sea  
  • Mykonos
  • White Winter Hymnal
  • Third of May / Ōdaigahara
  • Textbook Love  
  • The Shrine / An Argument
  • Blue Ridge Mountains
  • Blues Run the Game  
  • Helplessness Blues
  • Don't Come Around Here No More  
  • Oliver James  
  • Crack-Up

Tour Dates for Fleet Foxes