Eric Clapton Shares Live Album Featuring J.J. Cale & Derek Trucks


Veteran guitarist Eric Clapton today released a double live album Live In San Diego (with Special Guest JJ Cale) through Reprise/Bushbranch Records. As the title indicates, Slowhand was joined by late guitarist J.J. Cale on a number of the LP’s 16 tracks.

Clapton was backed by a band featuring the likes of guitarists Derek Trucks and Doyle Bramhall II and drummer Steve Jordan during a concert at iPayOne Center in San Diego on March 15, 2007. Cale sat-in on “Anyway The Wind Blows,” “Who Am I Telling You?” and “Don’t Cry Sister” which he recorded with Clapton on their 2006 album The Road to Escondido. The late guitarist was also featured that evening on his classics “After Midnight” and “Cocaine.” Cray came out at the end of the show for the “Crossroads” finale.

Below stream the entire album featuring Clapton, Cale, Trucks, Cray and the rest of the talented ensemble, followed by three previously shared video highlights from the concert:

[Anyway The Wind Blows]

[Motherless Children]

[Tell The Truth]

Live In San Diego With Special Guest J.J. Cale Tracklist

  1. Tell The Truth
  2. Key To The Highway
  3. Got To Get Better In A Little While
  4. Little Wing
  5. Anyday
  6. Anyway The Wind Blows (With J.J. Cale)
  7. After Midnight (With J.J. Cale)
  8. Who Am I Telling You? (With J.J. Cale)
  9. Don’t Cry Sister (With J.J. Cale)
  10. Cocaine (With J.J. Cale)
  11. Motherless Children
  12. Little Queen Of Spades
  13. Further On Up The Road
  14. Wonderful Tonight
  15. Layla
  16. Crossroads (with Robert Cray)


  • Eric Clapton: Guitar & Vocals
  • JJ Cale: Guitar & Vocals (Tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
  • Doyle Bramhall II: Guitar/Backing Vocals
  • Derek Trucks: Slide Guitar
  • Willie Weeks: Bass
  • Steve Jordan: Drums
  • Chris Stainton: Keyboards
  • Tim Carmon: Keyboards
  • Michelle John: Backing Vocals
  • Sharon White: Backing Vocals
  • Robert Cray: Guitar & Vocals (Track 16)