Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien Announces Debut Album ‘Earth’ & Shares Single


Radiohead‘s Ed O’Brien will release his debut solo album, Earth, under the EOB moniker. EOB previewed Earth, which is due on April 17 via Capitol Records, by unveiling the single “Shangri-La.”

O’Brien previously shared the non-album track “Santa Teresa” and Earth’s “Brasil.” Ed tapped Flood to produce the album, though the track “Olympik” was co-produced by Flood and Catherine Marks. All of Earth was composed by Ed O’Brien and features Ed on vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion and programming. Contributors include O’Brien’s Radiohead band mate Colin Greenwood as well as Adrian Utley (Portishead), Glenn Kotche (Wilco), Omar Hakim, Nathan East, Laura Marling, David Okumu, Adam “Cecil” Bartlett, Richie Kennedy, Marcelo S. Silva, Flood and Marks.


EOB will tour in support of Earth. while four intimate shows will take place this month, a full North American tour will be announced soon. O’Brien’s band for the tour features Hinako Omori, Ross Chapman, Dishan Abrahams and Alvin Ford, Jr.

Check out the “Shangri-La” video below:

Watch a video documenting the making of Earth:


Earth Tracklist

  1. Shangri-La
  2. Brasil
  3. Deep Days
  4. Long Time Coming
  5. Mass
  6. Banksters
  7. Sail On
  8. Olympik
  9. Cloak of the Night