Eaux Claires To Host Only ‘Day Of The Dead’ Performance

By Scott Bernstein Feb 11, 2016 9:52 am PST

The second annual Eaux Claires Music & Arts Festival will return to Foster Farm in Eau Claire, Wisconsin August 12 – 13. Eaux Claires is the dream child of Eau Claire native and Bon Iver front man Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner of The National. Today, festival organizers have revealed the initial lineup for this year’s event.

Of particular note is what’s billed as the first and only scheduled performance of Aaron & Bryce Dessner’s Grateful Dead tribute project, Day Of The Dead. The live performance will draw from the presence of contributors at the festival to the pair’s long-in-the-making extensive charity album for the Red Hot Organization which is due soon. Some of the recently revealed tracks for the Grateful Dead tribute compilation include Jim James & Friends taking on “Candyman,” Stephen Malkmus and The Jicks covering “China Cat Sunflower” > “I Know You Rider” and Kurt Vile & J Mascis doing “Box of Rain.”

Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers will be on hand at Eaux Claires and will perform Hornsby’s legendary album The Way It Is. Bon Iver, Erykah Badu, James Blake, Beach House, Vince Staples and Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats are among the total of 54 Eaux Claires acts announced today.

Tickets go on sale tomorrow, February 12 at 10 a.m. CT via the festival’s website.

Eaux Claires 2016 Lineup

  • Alpha Consumer
  • Andrew Fitzpatrick
  • Beach House
  • Bon Iver
  • Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers performing “The Way It Is”
  • Buke and Gase
  • Catsax
  • Cornelius performing “Fantasma”
  • Day Of The Dead
  • Deafheaven
  • Efird/Westerlund
  • eighth blackbird with Bryce Dessner and Bonnie “Prince” Billy
  • Erykah Badu
  • EX EYE
  • FOG
  • Francis and The Lights
  • Har Mar Superstar
  • Jacy Catlin
  • James Blake
  • Jenny Lewis
  • Jon Hopkins
  • Jon Mueller
  • Kill The Vultures
  • Lisa Hannigan and Aaron Dessner
  • Little Scream
  • Lucius
  • Mavis Staples
  • Melvins
  • Midnite Express
  • My Brightest Diamond
  • Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats
  • Phil Cook’s “Southland Revue”
  • Phosphorescent
  • Prinze George
  • Richard Reed Parry/ Quiet River of Dust
  • Rosenau/Sanborn
  • S.Carey
  • Sam Amidon
  • Sarah Neufeld
  • Senyawa
  • Shabazz Palaces
  • Sloslylove
  • So Percussion
  • Taggart & Rosewood
  • Tenement
  • The Staves and yMusic
  • Tickle Torture
  • Thomas Wincek
  • Tuskha
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra
  • Vince Staples
  • William Tyler
  • yMusic
JamBase Collections