Dumpstaphunk Enlists Former Drummers For 20th Anniversary Concert In New Orleans

Raymond Weber, Nikki Glaspie and Alvin Ford Jr. will help the band celebrate two decades of funk.

By Scott Bernstein Mar 30, 2023 7:45 am PDT

New Orleans’ own Dumpstaphunk will celebrate “20 Years In Tha Dumpsta” with a hometown concert on the last night of Jazz Fest. The funk outfit will be joined by all three former drummers during the show at Tipitina’s on Sunday, May 7.

Dumpstaphunk formed in 2003 with a lineup featuring keyboardist Ivan Neville, guitarist/bassist Tony Hall, guitarist Ian Neville, bassist Nick Daniels and drummer Raymond Weber. In 2011, Nikki Glaspie replaced Weber and she left in 2014 to focus on The Nth Power. The next five years saw Alvin Ford Jr. on drums.

Current drummer Deven Trusclair signed up in 2019 after Ford Jr. parted ways with Dumpstaphunk. The group also added trombonist Alex Wasily and trumpeter Ashlin Parker to the lineup in recent years.

DJ Soul Sister will spin at the celebratory show. Tickets for Dumpstaphunk’s 20th Anniversary Concert are on sale now via TicketWeb.

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections