Dawes Performs Guest-Filled ‘North Hills’ Set At Newport

By Andy Kahn Jul 29, 2019 8:04 am PDT

Dawes performed on Saturday at the Newport Folk Festival in Newport, Rhode Island. Billed as “North Hills The 10 Year Celebration – Dawes & Friends,” the band’s set featured several guests including Jason Isbell, Jonathan Wilson, Benmont Tench and others to help perform songs from their 2009 debut album.

Frontman Taylor Goldsmith led his band mates through a set-opening “Take Me Out Of The City.” Isbell then emerged to add guitar to “If You Let Me Be Your Anchor.” Dawes was then joined by vocalist Yola for “When You Call My Name,” followed by Lake Street Dive’s Rachael Price and Bridget Kearney joining on “That Western Skyline.”

Goldsmith praised Wilson, who produced North Hills, for being an early believer in Dawes. Wilson emerged with Tench for “Love Is All I Am” and they remained on guitar and organ respectively for the rest of the set. Hiss Golden Messenger’s M.C. Taylor came out for “God Rest My Soul” and members of Preservation Hall Jazz Band were on stage for “My Girl To Me.” The band was then accompanied by Mike Viola on “Bedside Manner.” The set closed with ’s John Joseph McCauley III helping out on a rousing “When My Time Comes.” View audience-shot video highlights below:

When My Time Comes Captured by Andrew Greeley


My Girl To Me Captured by Late for the Sky



  • Take Me Out of the City
  • If You Let Me Be Your Anchor
  • When You Call My Name
  • That Western Skyline
  • Love Is All I Am
  • God Rest My Soul
  • Give Me Time
  • My Girl to Me
  • Bedside Manner
  • Peace in the Valley
  • When My Time Comes
Setlist data setlist.fm.

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections