Daptone Records Announces Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings’ Final Studio Album ‘Soul Of A Woman’


Daptone Records has announced the upcoming release of the final Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings album. The label will issue Soul Of A Woman on November 17 featuring the single “Matter Of Time.”

Soul singer Sharon Jones tragically died last year at the age of 60 following a battle with cancer. Jones and The Dap-Kings recorded Soul Of A Woman on eight-track tape at Daptone’s House Of Soul studio in Brooklyn. The Dap-Kings bassist Bosco Mann produced the album that features 11 new tracks.

“The last couple of years, Sharon was battling,” said Mann. “When she was strongest, that’s when we’d go into the studio — Sharon couldn’t phone it in, so we would only work when she was really feeling it.”

Originally conceived with a focus on string-driven ballads and potential symphonic tour in support, Jones’ deteriorating health led to a decision to incorporate more typically funky and blues sounds alongside some slower material. Songs on the album were penned by The Dap-Kings guitarist Joey Crispiano, percussionist Fernando Velez and drummer Homer Steinweiss, among others.

The opening track, “Matter Of Time,” was captured in a single take and is featured in the video presented below:

Soul Of A WomanTracklist

  1. Matter of Time
  2. Sail On!
  3. Just Give Me Your Time
  4. Come and Be a Winner
  5. Rumors
  6. Pass Me By
  7. Searching for a New Day
  8. These Tears (No Longer for You)
  9. When I Saw Your Face
  10. Girl! (You Got to Forgive Him)
  11. Call on God