Chris Stapleton Announces New Album ‘Starting Over’ & Shares Title Track


On November 13, Chris Stapleton will unveil a new studio album entitled Starting Over on Mercury Records. Stapleton released the title track from the 14-track LP as a preview of Starting Over.

Dave Cobb produced Starting Over, which was recorded at Nashville’s famed RCA Studio A just before the COVID-19 pandemic began. Additional work took place at Muscle Shoals Sound and Compass Sound Studios. Cobb plays acoustic guitar on the record with other contributors including Chris’ wife, Morgane Stapleton on vocals and tambourine, bassist J.T. Cure and drummer Derek Mixon. Members of The Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench and guitarist Mike Campbell apppear as special guests as do pedal steel wiz Paul Franklin and the All Voices Choir.

Starting Over features 11 originals and covers of John Fogerty’s “Joy Of My Life” and Guy Clark’s “Worry B Gone” and “Old Friends.” The title track was written by Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson.

Listen to “Starting Over” below:

Starting Over Tracklist

  1. Starting Over
  2. Devil Always Made Me Think Twice
  3. Cold
  4. When I’m With You
  5. Arkansas
  6. Joy Of My Life
  7. Hillbilly Blood
  8. Maggie’s Song
  9. Whiskey Sunrise
  10. Worry B Gone
  11. Old Friends
  12. Watch You Burn
  13. You Should Probably Leave
  14. Nashville, TN