Chicano Batman Announces New Album ‘Invisible People’ & Tour And Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Feb 25, 2020 9:51 am PST

Chicano Batman will release a new studio album, Invisible People, through ATO Records on May 1. The Los Angeles-based band confirmed an extensive tour in support of the LP and unveiled its opening track, “Color My Life.”

The quartet tapped Shawn Everett to engineer and Leon Michaels to produce the follow-up to 2017’s Freedom Is Free. “The goal was to make the best record we’ve never heard,” the band wrote Rolling Stone. “For the first time, we completely disregarded the ‘Can we play this live?’ challenge, shot for the sky with blatant ignorance of genre, and approached with a process that was much more varied.”

Chicano Batman kicks off their tour in support of Invisible People at Meow Wolf in Santa Fe on April 8 and Van Buren in Phoenix on April 9 ahead of appearances at Coachella. The band returns to the road in Kingston, New York on April 29. From there, Chicano Batman brings the excursion to New York City, Boston, Philadelphia, Toronto, Detroit, Indianapolis, St. Louis, Chicago, Minneapolis, Seattle, Portland (Oregon), Salt Lake City, Denver, Las Vegas, San Diego, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Mexico City. Next up is a run through Texas and dates in Oklahoma City, Orlando, Miami, Tampa, Atlanta, Nashville, Birmingham, Charlotte, Raleigh, Richmond and Washington D.C.

George Mays produced the “Color My Life” video. “[It’s a] neck breaker from the future, beckoning a retreat to nature in the apocalyptic dawn,” explained lead singer Bardo Martinez of the track and accompanying visuals in a press release. “This is Chicano Batman’s new single for all generations past and for all those yet to be born. Everything is everything, brothers and sisters.” Check out the “Color My Life” video, which premiered via Rolling Stone, below:

Invisible People Tracklist

  1. Color my life
  2. Blank Slate
  3. I Know It
  4. Invisible People
  5. Manuel’s Story
  6. Moment of Joy
  7. Pink Elephant
  8. Polymetronomic Harmony
  9. The Way
  10. The Prophet
  11. Bella
  12. Wounds
JamBase Collections