Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album ‘Western Stars’


Bruce Springsteen will issue Western Stars, the long-awaited follow-up to 2014’s High Hopes on June 14 via Columbia Records. The Boss’ 19th studio album features 13 all new originals.

While the New Jersey native had been focusing on his 236-show Springsteen On Broadway from October 2017 to December 2018, Springsteen has been talking up a solo record in the press for a number of years. Longtime Springsteen collaborator Ron Aniello serves as co-producer for a project featuring material that pre-dates not only High Hopes but 2012’s Wrecking Ball. The album was in the can before 2016’s The River Tour as per Bruce’s 2017 chat with Jem Aswad of Variety.

Bruce Springsteen noted in 2017 that this record “is influenced by Southern California pop music of the ’70s.” When asked for more details, The Boss shared the following:

[Western Stars] is influenced by Southern California pop music of the ’70s: Glen Campbell, Jimmy Webb, Burt Bacharach, those kinds of records. I don’t know if people will hear those influences, but that was what I had in my mind. It gave me something to hook an album around; it gave me some inspiration to write. And also, it’s a singer-songwriter record. It’s connected to my solo records writing-wise, more ‘Tunnel of Love’ and ‘Devils and Dust,’ but it’s not like them at all. Just different characters living their lives.

“This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements,” Springsteen said in a press release announcing the album. “It’s a jewel box of a record.”

Most of Western Stars was recorded at Bruce’s home studio in New Jersey with additional recording in California and New York. The Boss is joined on the LP by Aniello, who plays bass, keyboards and more, as well as Springsteen’s wife, vocalist Patti Scialfa. Patti also wrote vocal arrangements for four songs on Western Stars. Over 20 additional musicians contribute including Jon Brion, David Sancious, Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell.

The album’s first single, “Hello Sunshine” will be released with an accompanying video just after midnight ET this evening.

Western Stars Tracklist

  1. Hitch Hikin’
  2. The Wayfarer
  3. Tucson Train
  4. Western Stars
  5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
  6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
  7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
  8. Sundown
  9. Somewhere North of Nashville
  10. Stones
  11. There Goes My Miracle
  12. Hello Sunshine
  13. Moonlight Motel

Tour Dates for Bruce Springsteen